Skip to main content

Residency Programs

Resident physicians at IU School of Medicine benefit from a wide range of clinical experience at the School’s partner institutions throughout the state of Indiana. These teaching hospitals and health networks offer vital access to a large a diverse patient population. Major teaching venues in the downtown Indianapolis area consist of three major hospital affiliate systems, which include five facilities that provide tertiary as well as quaternary care. These hospitals are conveniently located on the same campus and easily accessible via the IU Health shuttle service.

Anesthesia Residency Dr. Jennifer Stewart
General Dentistry Residency Dr. Melanie Peterson
Maxillofacial Prosthetics Residency Dr. John Levon
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Residency Dr. Joseph Heidelman
Pediatric Dentistry Residency Dr. Brian Sanders
Dermatology Residency Dr. Nidhi Avashia-Khemka
Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine Residency Dr. Butch Humbert
Emergency Medicine/Pediatrics Residency Dr. Debra Rusk
Family Medicine
Family Medicine Residency Dr. Jacqueline Nonweiler-Parr
Family Medicine Residency at IU Health Arnett Dr. Kishan Patel
Family Medicine Residency at Memorial Hospital Dr. Gerald Stroud
Internal Medicine
Internal Medicine Residency Dr. Mitch Goldman
Southwest Indiana Internal Medicine Residency Dr. Robert Ficalora
Internal Medicine/Pediatrics Residency Dr. Tim Brady
Medical and Molecular Genetics
Medical Genetics Residency Dr. Gail Habegger Vance
Neurological Surgery
Neurological Surgery Dr. Scott Shapiro
Neurology Residency Dr. Karen Roos
Child Neurology Dr. Laurence Walsh
Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Dr. Anthony Shanks
Ophthalmology Residency Dr. Charline Boente
Orthopaedic Surgery
Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Dr. Brian Mullis
Otolaryngology Residency Dr. Taha Shipchandler
Anatomic and Clinical Pathology Residency Dr. Matthew Kuhar
Pediatrics Residency Dr. Jerry Rushton
Emergency Medicine/Pediatrics Residency Dr. Debra Rusk
Internal Medicine/Pediatrics Residency Dr. Tim Brady
Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Residency Dr. Thomas Lock
Pediatrics/Psychiatry/Child Psychiatry Residency (Triple Board) Dr. David Dunn
Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Residency Dr. Thomas Lock
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Residency Dr. Nathan Prahlow
Pediatrics/Psychiatry/Child Psychiatry Residency (Triple Board) Dr. David Dunn
Psychiatry Residency Dr. Michael DeMotte
Vincennes Psychiatry Residency Dr. Allie Thomas-Fannin
Psychology Internship Program Dr. Ann Lagges
Clinical Neuropsychology Residency Dr. Frederick Unverzagt
Radiation Oncology
Radiation Oncology Residency Dr. Susannah Ellsworth
Medical Physics Residency Dr. Colleen DesRosiers
Diagnostic Radiology Residency Dr. Aaron Kamer
Diagnostic Imagining Physics Residency Yun Liang, PhD
General Surgery Residency Dr. Jennifer Choi
General Vascular Surgery and Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency Dr. Raghu Motaganahalli
Cardiothoracic Surgery Residency Dr. Mark Turrentine
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Residency Dr. William A. Wooden
Transitional Year
Transitional Year Residency Program Dr. Cory Pitre
Urology Residency Dr. Chandru Sundaram

Details of Employment

Find details about stipends and benefits for IU School of Medicine resident physicians in the GME Handbook. For personalized information, contact the Office of Graduate Medical Education.

GME Handbook