Skip to main content

Clinical Neuropsychology Residency

Clinical Neuropsychology Residency

This two-year residency, founded in 1997 and APPCN-affiliated since 2005, offers pediatric and adult training and is designed to prepare residents for ABPP-ABCN board certification. The program is staffed by several faculty from the Departments of Psychiatry and Neurology. The program currently consists of six residents (four adult and two pediatric) and generally accepts three new residents each year.

The residency is primarily located at the Indiana University Health Neuroscience Center, which is part of the larger IU Health campus in downtown Indianapolis. Additionally, pediatric neuropsychology residents participate in multidisciplinary rotations at Riley Hospital for Children.

Program Brochure

Clinical Neuropsychology Residency Adult Track

Adult Track

On the Adult Track, residents see outpatients referred from clinical departments within IU Health and the community. Diagnoses include: Alzheimer disease, Parkinson disease, Huntington disease, brain tumors, traumatic brain injury, stroke, multiple sclerosis, environmental exposures and medico-legal referrals. Residents have roles in clinical interview, testing, report writing and feedback to patients, families and referral sources. There are sub-rotations in deep brain stimulation and epilepsy clinics. Typical caseload is three to four consultations per week.


Clinical Neuropsychology Residency Pediatric Track

Pediatric Track

On the Pediatric Track, residents see outpatients on referral from pediatric neurology, oncology, neurosurgery, developmental pediatrics, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and psychiatry departments. Diagnoses include: seizure, epilepsy, traumatic brain injury, brain tumor, leukemia, stroke, chromosomal abnormalities, spina bifida, hydrocephalus and neurofibromatosis. There are sub-rotations in neuro-oncology and physical medicine and rehabilitation which take place at Riley Hospital for Children. Residents have roles in clinical interview, testing, report writing and feedback to patient, family and referral sources. Caseload is two to three consultations per week.


Clinical Neuropsychology Residency Didactics


All residents receive instruction and certification in test administration and scoring at the outset of training. In addition, the program offers a weekly 90-minute dedicated didactic that rotates between case conference. In this didactic residents experience ABPP-style fact finding, and a 24-lecture seminar series providing coverage of all major neurobehavioral, developmental disorders, syndromes and clinical neurology, radiology and psychiatry. Topics related to professional development are covered in the series including: ethics and how to’s related to job search, interviews and salary negotiation. In addition, participation in medical neuroscience wet labs (neuroanatomy for medical students), Neurology Grand Rounds, Psychiatry Grand Rounds, Stark Neurosciences Research Institute seminars, Indiana Alzheimer Disease Center clinic-pathologic case conference, brain cuttings and observations of functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) for epilepsy surgery, neurosurgery and neurology clinics are offered.

Didactics Schedule

Application Procedures

  • Cover letter (specify adult or pediatric track)
  • CV
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Graduate and undergraduate academic transcripts (copies issued to the student are acceptable)

Send application materials to Fred Unverzagt, PhD via email or to:

Frederick W. Unverzagt, PhD
Training Director, Clinical Neuropsychology Residency
Department of Psychiatry at IU School of Medicine
Neuroscience Center
355 W. 16th Street, Suite 2800
Indianapolis, IN 46202

Submit Application

Salary and Benefits

Resident salary is $50,004 for the first year and $50,376 for the second year. Benefits offered at no cost to residents include: family health insurance, vision and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance and malpractice insurance.

More Quick Facts


Elizabeth L. Begyn, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Jana B. Dykstra, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Rachel M. Jensen, Psy.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Courtney B. Johnson, PhD

Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychology in Clinical Psychiatry

David A. Kareken, PhD

Professor of Neurology

Kate Kingery, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Brenna C. McDonald, Psy.D.

Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences

Daniel F. Rexroth, MS, Psy.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology in Clinical Psychiatry

Christopher C. Stewart, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurology

Frederick W. Unverzagt, PhD

Professor of Clinical Psychology