Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Justice Committee

The Department of Psychiatry’s Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Justice (DEIJ) Committee’s mission is to use our expertise in behavioral science to promote representational diversity and equity for all persons. We aim for an inclusive climate, cultural humility and anti-racism across all mission areas of patient care, research and education by cultivating a psychologically safe environment in which individuals are free from discrimination, mistreatment and the effects of structural injustice.


The DEIJ Committee aims to help implement the Department of Psychiatry’s stated goals:

  • Increase recruitment, advancement, retention and vitality of trainees, faculty and leadership from school-identified diversity categories (e.g., race, ethnicity, gender and gender identity, religion, socio-economic status, age, geography of origin and residence, sexual orientation, disability, work style and other aspects of human attributes and behaviors).

  • Foster a culture of inclusion and civility where all individuals feel included, valued and respected.

  • Promote cultural competence, cultural humility and anti-racism as a cornerstone of highest quality education, patient-centered care and research. 

Learn more about diversity initiatives at IU School of Medicine

Committee Members

The DEIJ Committee meets monthly to implement their goals and to act as a resource for the department’s DEIJ concerns. The committee is comprised of faculty members, as well as rotating one-year members representing clinical psychology interns (Olivia Campbell).
18755-Henderson, Danielle

Danielle R. Henderson, PhD

Assistant Dean for Diversity Affairs


Read Bio Danielle R. Henderson, PhD

Richard L. Bell, PhD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Jill C. Fodstad, PhD

Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Elaine A. Gilbert, PsyD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Emily G. Holmes, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Amber D. Hunt, DO

Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Michelle L. Miller, PhD

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Katherine N. Schwartzkopf, PsyD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Naomi B. Swiezy, PhD

Alan H. Cohen Family Professor of Psychiatry

Michele S. Tsai Owens, PhD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics