Skip to main content

Otolaryngology Residency

Training the next generation of otolaryngology—head and neck surgeons

The residency program in the Department of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery at IU School of Medicine is based on the core curriculum of the American Board of Otolaryngology and includes five years of post-graduate medical education. 

Residents learn from faculty members with advanced training and expertise in head and neck oncology and reconstructive surgery, laryngology, pediatric otolaryngology, neurotology, facial plastic and reconstructive surgery and endoscopic sinus surgery. Yet, the program isn’t limited to a future physician’s training and graduating. Department faculty members serve as professional mentors to residents for the rest of their careers.

Upon completing this residency program, residents will have exceeded the requirements of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and the Residency Review Committee for Otolaryngology.

Register to Match

To register to match with the IU School of Medicine otolaryngology residency program, login with the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) and complete an application.

Match Information

What is Project ECHO?


The residency training program is based on the core curriculum of the American Board of Otolaryngology and includes 5 years of post-graduate medical education.
Learn More

Current Residents

Residents in the Department of Otolaryngology at IU School of Medicine have studied at medical schools across the world.

Learn More

Clinical Experience

Highly committed otolaryngology residents have the opportunity to follow patients longitudinally, providing an opportunity for critical assessment of outcomes.
Learn More
50 research papers published by residents in 2019-20
15 residents
2,500 clinical cases completed by residents in 5-year program

Residency Program Contacts

11724-Shipchandler, Taha

Taha Z. Shipchandler, MD

Associate Professor of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery

Read Bio

Jane Adamson

Jane Adamson

Residency and Fellowship Coordinator