Skip to main content

MD Curriculum Year Three

The second phase (third year) of the MD curriculum at Indiana University School of Medicine centers on developing clinical skills through training in clinical clerkships, including typical outpatient, inpatient, triage and interventional venues. The Phase 2 curriculum consists of Transitions 2, Intersessions, required clerkships and career exploration electives.

Transitions 2

Transitions 2 is a two-week course that occurs during the beginning of the third year of medical school (Phase 2). The course is an integrated series of lectures, small group discussions, online modules and case-based learning. Transitions 2 builds upon Phase 1 experiences by helping students develop the skills required to serve as a high-functioning member of a health care team.


Intersessions are mandatory curricular days that cover longitudinal elements of the curriculum and introduce material that is valuable in all clerkships. Intersessions are designed so that students do not miss any clerkship duties. Topics covered during Intersessions include behavioral health, communication skills, ethics, wellness and community health. These topics come alive in the Community Health Improvement Program (CHIP) component of Intersessions. During CHIP, students work in virtual groups across the state to address key health initiatives in Indiana.

MD Curriculum second phase (third year)

Interspersed campus connection days and vacations days are included in the Year Three MD student schedule. Note that this graphic represents an example schedule and may not be the schedule for every student.

Required Clerkships

During clerkships, MD students gain specialty-specific clinical skills that will help them choose a specialty for residency.
Learn More


Elective courses in the basic sciences and clinical sciences enable medical students to pursue topics of special interest.
Learn More