Skip to main content

Trustees' Teaching Award

Each year the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes faculty excellence in teaching through a program known as the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Excellence in teaching is the primary factor for selection.

In 2024, 57 faculty members from IU School of Medicine received the award!

View the 2024 winners

Nominate a candidate

Nominations for the 2025 award will open later this year. Revisit this page in the fall.

View the 2024 winners

Tenured and tenure-track faculty and librarians engaged in teaching are eligible, as are full-time clinical faculty and full-time lecturers whose primary duties are teaching. This includes faculty in IU School of Medicine who may be located at medical centers or be paid by institutions other than Indiana University (e.g., IU Health Physicians, Eskenazi Health, Purdue University, Veteran Affairs, Ball State University, etc.).

Award recipients must have demonstrated a sustained level of teaching excellence and must have completed at least three years of service at Indiana University School of Medicine to be eligible.

Nominees must not have won the award in the last two years. See list of recent award recipients below. If you are unsure of eligibility, please feel free to contact