Skip to main content

Scholar Educator Award

The purpose of the Scholar Educator Award is to recognize faculty who go beyond teaching and approach education in a scholarly manner. Honorees are consistently noted for their teaching effectiveness, commitment to learning, educational leadership, scholarly activity related to teaching and learning and passion for biomedical education. This award allows Indiana University School of Medicine to honor and celebrate the scholarly contributions of educators.

Nominate a candidate

Nominations will open May 1st and are due June 10th. Winners will be announced at the Fall All School Meeting.

Nomination form

Current Winner

2023 Awardee
7371-Sotto, Sylk

Sylk M. Sotto, EDD

Associate Professor of Medicine

Read Bio Sylk M. Sotto, EDD

Award Recognition

One recipient will be selected per year. Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award in the amount of $1,500 and will be highlighted on the FAPD website.


The awards are designed to honor educators in the IU School of Medicine community who study education and the impact that teaching has on learning outcomes. The scholar educator award will be given to one faculty member who can demonstrate excellence in teaching by way of:

  • Teaching innovations
  • Continual professional development as educator
  • Educational leadership
  • Serving as a catalyst for the enhancement of teaching
  • Teaching publications
  • Teaching presentations
  • Teaching grants
  • Teaching awards

Eligibility for Nomination

Any full, part-time or volunteer faculty member who has taught in the IU School of Medicine for at least three years is eligible. Past years winners of the award are not eligible. Faculty who believe they meet the award criteria are asked to prepare their nomination materials. An award may be conferred only once to a faculty member, however, a nomination will remain active for a three year period. Candidates will be invited to update their nomination packet but will not be required to do so. While not required, it is recommended that candidates update their nomination materials.

Nomination Packet and Procedures

There will be an open call for nominations in newsletters, electronic list serves, and via the FAPD website. Nominations should be submitted via the button below.

The nomination packet must include:

  • No more than a two page typed letter from the candidate, which should provide a summary of the ways in which he/she meets the stated criteria
  • A one to two-page philosophy of teaching statement prepared by the candidate
  • Two to three letters of support: at least one from a former or current learner and one from the candidate’s chair or center/division director. The letters should provide examples of how the candidate has excelled as a scholarly teacher and the impact his/her teaching has had on the career development and success of others
  • A copy of the candidate’s CV
  • Copies of no more than two teaching-related publications
  • Photo of the candidate in jpg format, which will be added to the FAPD webpage

Nominate a candidate

Selection Committee

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the IU School of Medicine Teaching Awards Committee members.


Nominations are due June 10th.

Award winners will be announced at the Fall All School Meeting.

Past Winners

2022 Polly R. Husmann, PhD, Associate Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology
2021 Jessica Byram, PhD, Assistant Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology
2020 Dylan Cooper, MD, Executive Director of the Simulation Center at Fairbanks Hall and Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2019 Christen K. Dilly, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
2018 Gabriel T. Bosslet, MD, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine and of Clinical Neurology, Director, Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
2017 Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD, IUPUI Chancellor’s Professor, John A. Campbell Professor of Radiology, Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Medical Education, Professor of Philosophy, School of Liberal Arts, Professor of Medical Humanities & Health Studies, School of Liberal Arts
2016 Joseph S. Turner, MD, Director, Assistant Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2015 Mark W. Braun, MD, Director, Medical Pathology, Medical Sciences Program, Professor of Medical Pathology, Medical Sciences Program
2014 Valerie D. O’Loughlin, PhD, Associate Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology, Medical Sciences Program, Director, Undergraduate Studies, Medical Sciences Program