Skip to main content

Mark Brothers Award

Guey C. Mark, MD, and his wife Clara created the endowed Mark Brothers Lectureship to recognize nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent. The Mark Brothers Award was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who emigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, where they built a successful restaurant business. Because of their reverence and respect for higher education, the brothers supported their youngest brother, Dr. Mark (the youngest of six siblings), in his pursuit of a career in medicine. The late Dr. Mark was a member of the Indiana University School of Medicine’s Class of 1954.

The award is presented annually and consists of a plaque and a prize of $5,000. 

Nominate a candidate

Nominations are due in early November (exact date for 2024 TBD).

Submit a nomination

Current Winner

A headshot of Francis Lee, MD, PhD, Mark Brothers Award winner

Francis Lee, MD, PhD

Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Weill Cornell Medicine
New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center

Nomination Process

Nominations should be accompanied by a summary statement emphasizing the most important academic accomplishment(s) of the nominee, importance to biomedical or clinical science and why you believe they are deserving of this honor.

Please include the following in the nomination packet:

  • Support letter that includes a summary statement
  • Curriculum vitae
  • List of key publications

For questions, please contact FAPD at or call (317) 278-3089.

Past Winners

2019 Amy Shiu Lee, PhD, Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine, Judy and Larry Freeman Chair in Basic Science Cancer Research, University of Southern California 
2018 Feng Zhang, PhD, James and Patricia Poitras Professor in Neuroscience in the Departments of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and Biological Engineering at MIT
2017 Augustine M.K. Choi, MD, Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean and Provost for Medical Affairs, Professor of Genetic Medicine, Department of Medicine Weill Cornell Medical College
2016 Anindya Dutta, MD, PhD, Harry F. Byrd Professor and Department Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics Professor of Pathology, University of Virginia
2015 Kun-Liang Guan, PhD, Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Moores Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego
2014 Dean Y. Li, MD, PhD, Associate Vice President for Research and Chief Scientific Officer, Health Sciences; Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine; Director, University of Utah Molecular Medicine (U2M2) Program; HA and Edna Benning Endowed Professor of Medicine and Cardiology, University of Utah
2013 Jayakrishna Ambati, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences and Physiology at the University of Kentucky