Skip to main content

Addiction Research

Stark Neurosciences Research Institute faculty have a wide range of research programs focused on the cellular, molecular and behavioral correlates of addiction to alcohol, cannabis, methamphetamine, nicotine, opiates and food. Investigators are interested in the mechanisms and consequences of alcoholism, drug addiction and obesity.

The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism-funded Indiana Alcohol Research Center, which supports thematic research in the genetic determinants of alcoholism, is comprised of both Stark Neurosciences Research Institute investigators and collaborators from the Addictions Neuroscience Graduate Program, offered through the IUPUI Purdue School of Science.

Stark Neurosciences Research Institute research areas include, but are not limited to, behavioral pharmacology, electrophysiology, microdialysis, genetics, novel human interventions, alcohol administration paradigms (both preclinical and human) and human behavioral and neuroimaging studies.

Faculty Investigators

Brady K. Atwood, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

AJ J. Baucum, PhD


R A. Chambers, MD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Cristine L. Czachowski, PhD


Eric A. Engleman, PhD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Jill C. Fehrenbacher, PhD

Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Nicholas J. Grahame, PhD

Adjunct Associate Professor of Neurobiology

Woody Hopf, PhD

Professor of Psychiatry

Leslie A. Hulvershorn, MD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

David A. Kareken, PhD

Professor of Neurology

Christopher C. Lapish, PhD

Assistant Professor Tenured/Tenure-Track, Graduate Faculty Member w/Endorsement

Yao-Ying Ma, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

David L. McKinzie, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

John I. Nurnberger, MD, PhD

Distinguished Professor

Brandon Oberlin, PhD

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Martin H. Plawecki, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Psychiatry

Patrick L. Sheets, PhD

Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Fletcher A. White, PhD

Vergil K. Stoelting Professor of Anesthesia

Bryan K. Yamamoto, PhD

Chair, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Karmen K. Yoder, PhD

Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences

Improving Indiana Health

IU School of Medicine faculty, staff and students are focused on improving Indiana Health in part through addressing the opioid crisis in this state. Explore the school’s programs and initiatives that are advancing training and research related to opioid abuse to improve population health and patient care.

Opioid Misuse Programs