Skip to main content

Service Learning Coalition Leadership

2023-2024 Executive Board

Board Members
Victor Olafusi – President (
Cynthia Wu – Vice-President of Service (
Leonardo Olivera Perez – Vice-President of Project Affairs (
Erica Geers – Vice-President of Communications (
Anastasiya Yakovlyeva – Vice-President of Finance (
Meera Patel – Vice-President of Community Engagement (
Missy Lah – Faculty Advisor (
Niki Messmore – Medical Service Learning Director (


Events Chair
Neal Mahajan – (
Faith (Kylee) Darden – (

Cluster Chair
Ujwala Pamidimukkala – (
Laura Scanameo – (

Alternative Break Chair
Alexander Johnson – (

Mentoring Network Chair
Aish Thamba – (
Hannah Komanapelli – (

Regional Chairs

Bloomington: Geneva Baumberger – (
Evansville: Timmy Miller – (
Fort Wayne: Will be filled in the fall
Indianapolis: Will be filled in the fall
Muncie: Michael Muzinich – (
Northwest/Gary: Michelle LaTurner – (
South Bend: Harper Claire – (
Lain Morgan – (
Terre Haute: Dana Joulani – (
West Lafayette: Molly Beatty – (

General information

SLC Executive Board Members are voted in for one-year terms by project boards. The executives have various responsibilities described below and are representatives of SLC for any school-wide meetings or events.

Both voting and non-voting members of the SLC can express interest in open SLC board roles via a platform and will be selected by current SLC leadership in early spring. Candidates should include SLC experience/qualifications and specific goals for upcoming year. The current SLC board will select and communicate the recommendation for the impending board with the SLC faculty/staff prior to induction. The term length will be one year beginning after spring elections.

  • Current medical student in good academic standing

  • Have served as an SLC project co-chair, or have volunteered on multiple SLC projects. Project chairs will be given first consideration.

  • Be strongly committed to continuing to serve SLC in a leadership role.

  • Be motivated to assist Service Learning Coalition (SLC) project co-chairs as a mentor.

  • Has met, in person or virtually, a current member of the Executive Board or the SLC advisor

Candidates must submit a platform for consideration by deadlines set by the outgoing executive board members or the faculty advisor. Platforms will be sent out to project emails and each project will submit one vote for each position by an online form. Elections will be open for one week in November.

Roles of each position

  • Represent SLC and promote community engagement on all IU School of Medicine campuses

  • Ensure statewide medical service-learning partnerships

  • Coordinate meetings with exec board and/or projects as needed

  • Oversee other exec board members

  • Liaison between SLC and the Medical Student Council (MSC)

  • Attend monthly MSC and Deans’ meetings

  • Planning of the fall Leadership Retreat for SLC projects in conjunction with MSC’s retreat

  • Oversee SLC campus representatives across the state

  • Guide and promote statewide service initiatives

  • Facilitate Spring Interview Day (hosted by MSC) and coordinate Excellence in Leadership Awards

  • Oversee all SLC projects; liaison between projects and exec board

  • Coordinate meetings with projects as needed with the President

  • Plan fall call-out fair and spring banquet

  • Responsible for monitoring SLC email and communications

  • Receive submissions for the monthly newsletter

  • Design and distribute the monthly newsletter

  • Coordinates statewide financial initiatives for service-learning projects

  • Administers budget requests from SLC projects

  • Supports student executive board members with initiatives and governance