Skip to main content

Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship

Led by program director, Deepak Bhakta, MD, the three-year ACGME-accredited Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship at IU School of Medicine selects five fellows each year. Program faculty utilize the modern clinical facilities and resources of IU Health at Methodist Hospital and University Hospital, Eskenazi Health, and the Roudebush Veterans Administration Hospital. These hospitals share common house staff and faculty attending staff, and all are within walking distance or connected by an elevated monorail. All cardiology rotations are under the direct supervision of full-time IU School of Medicine cardiology division faculty, which includes leaders in many areas of cardiology practice.


Applications for the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship must be submitted using the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®). The ERAS Post Office opens on July 15. Applicants are encouraged to apply by August 15 to ensure full consideration.

Required application materials include ERAS Application, Curriculum Vitae, personal statement, USMLE Scores, three letters of recommendation, photo, and valid ECFMG Certificate (for non-US medical graduates).

Apply for Fellowship Training

Applications for this fellowship program are accepted through ERAS and due July 15.