Skip to main content


The Center for Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases is comprised of 94 distinguished NIH-funded researchers from IU School of Medicine, Indiana University Purdue University- Indianapolis, IU Bloomington, IU School of Nursing,  Purdue University and the Indiana Biosciences Research Institute. Their multidisciplinary  work spans from basic cells to human models.

Investigators are organized in to four thematic groups.

Center Leadership

5100-Evans-Molina, Carmella

Carmella Evans-Molina, PhD, MD

Director, Indiana Diabetes Research Center

Read Bio

Executive Committee

X C. Dong, PhD

Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Kenneth W. Dunn, PhD

Professor of Medicine

Jeffrey S. Elmendorf, PhD

Associate Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology

Tamara S. Hannon, MD

Professor of Pediatrics

Nuria Morral, PhD

Associate Professor of Medical & Molecular Genetics

Amber L. Mosley, PhD

Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Peter J. Roach, PhD

Distinguished Professor