Skip to main content

Trauma Regeneration and Rehabilitation

Focusing on developing patient-specific interventions, these investigators are working to treat patients sustaining musculoskeletal injury, specifically injuries that result in acute and chronic musculoskeletal disease. These treatment goals include acute interventions, regenerative interventions for both bone and muscle, and eventually identifying the optimal means of rehabilitation for the patient to resume a normal lifestyle.

Young Investigator Travel Award

The Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Orthopaedic Surgery sponsors the Charles H. Turner Young Investigator Bone Research Award. Established in 2011 in honor of Charles H. Turner, MD, this travel award supports IU School of Medicine trainees at all levels to attend the Advances in Mineral Metabolism (AIMM) meeting each year, and the Sun Valley Meeting every two years.

Trainees interested in presenting research at one of these conferences can apply here and should also include an abstract no longer than 500 words and a brief paragraph describing your interest in the award and how you believe it will advance your career development. Applications are accepted annually, deadlines will be posted when dates are determined.

Team Leaders

Melissa A. Kacena, PhD, MS, BS

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Roman M. Natoli, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Dr. Kacena is the Director for Basic and Translational Research and a Professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at IU School of Medicine.  Her laboratory’s overall research goal is to improve the understanding of the interaction of the bone and hematopoietic systems, thereby potentially improving the treatment of metabolic bone disease, hematopoietic disorders, and fracture healing. In collaboration with NASA and the US Army Center for Environmental Health Research, Dr. Kacena has been investigating the impacts of spaceflight and drug therapies on bone healing (launched February 19, 2017 on SpaceX-10) and osteoblast function (launched July 25, 2019). Dr. Kacena’s laboratory has been funded since 2007 by the National Institute for Health, the Department of Defense, the US Army, the Veteran’s Affairs, and several foundations. In 2017, the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research recognized Dr. Kacena’s scientific contributions to the bone and mineral field by presenting her with the esteemed Fuller Albright Award.

Indiana University School of Medicine Investigators

Lynda F. Bonewald, PhD

Director, Indiana Center for Musculoskeletal Health

Angela Bruzzaniti, PhD

Director of Student Research, School of Dentistry

Christopher Collier, MD

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Tien-Min G. Chu, PhD

Associate Dean for Research, School of Dentistry

Joshua S. Everhart, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Orthopaedic Surgery

Thomas J. Fischer, MD

Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Anne M. Gingery, PhD

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Ed Greenfield, PhD

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Nilsson Holguin, PhD

Assistant Professor, School of Engineering & Technology

Jiliang Li, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Biology, School of Science

Todd O. McKinley, MD

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Brian H. Mullis, MD

Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Janet E. Panoch, PhD, MA, BA

Visiting Assistant Research Professor of Pediatrics

Uma Sankar, PhD

Associate Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology

Stephen Schlecht, PhD

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Edward F. Srour, PhD

Robert J. and Annie S. Rohn Professor of Leukemia Research

Stephen B. Trippel, MD

Professor Emeritus of Orthopaedic Surgery

Diane Wagner, PhD

Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, School of Science

Chandler L. Walker, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology

Stuart J. Warden, PhD

Professor of Physical Therapy, School of Health & Human Sciences

Steven S. Welc, PhD

Assistant Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology, and Physiology

Fletcher A. White, PhD

Vergil K. Stoelting Professor of Anesthesia

L D. Wurtz, MD

Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Hiroki Yokota, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering, School of Engineering & Technology

Teresa A. Zimmers, PhD

H.H. Gregg Professor of Cancer Research

Indiana University Members - Other Schools

Terry Loghmani, PhD

Associate Professor of Physical Therapy

Purdue University Members

Niki Munk, PhD, LMT

Interim Chair; Associate Professor of Health Sciences

Dianne Little, PhD

Assistant Professor of Basic Medical Sciences

Philip Low, PhD

Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Sarah Malek, DVM, PhD

Assistant Professor, Small Animal Orthopedic Surgery

Julie Liu, PhD

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

Russell Main, PhD

Associate Professor, Basic Medical Sciences

Marion University Members

Jonathan Lowery, PhD

Associate Professor of Physiology