Skip to main content
Chandan K. Sen, PhD, director of the Indiana Center for Regenerative Medicine and Engineering at Indiana University School of Medicine has been elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. 

Regenerative medicine researcher Chandan Sen, PhD, elected to National Academy of Inventors

Chandan Sen National Academy of Inventors

Chandan K. Sen, PhD

Chandan K. Sen, PhD, director of the Indiana Center for Regenerative Medicine and Engineering at Indiana University School of Medicine has been elected as a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. The induction ceremony will take place during the Academy’s annual meeting in June. Sen is associate vice president of research and a distinguished professor at Indiana University.

The NAI recognizes the election of NAI Fellow status as the highest professional distinction solely to academic inventors and includes more than 1,400 fellows worldwide representing more than 250 universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes. 

Sen has “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society,” the NAI Fellows Selection Committee stated in a congratulatory letter. 

“I am deeply honored to receive this distinction from the National Academy of Inventors and join alongside some of the greatest scientific innovators of our time,” Sen said. “This is a recognition of our interdisciplinary team effort.” 

As director of the ICRME and executive director of the Comprehensive Wound Care Center at IU Health Methodist Hospital, Sen led the development of a non-invasive, nanochip device that uses nanotransfection technology to reprogram tissue function. This tissue nanotransfection technology has a wide range of applications in health care. Sen is also the Indiana lead of the NIH-sponsored Diabetic Foot Consortium
In 2018, Sen moved his lab from Ohio State University to IU School of Medicine and brought more than two dozen investigators and $10 million in research grants to further develop practical applications and commercial products to advance breakthroughs in health care delivery.  His work shows how weak electric field may be employed to fight biofilm infection as well as antibiotic resistance. Sen’s team reported that an electroceutical fabric is capable of neutralizing infectivity of coronavirus upon contact. Electroceutical management of infection has emerged as a new paradigm in health care inviting novel product development ideas.  

Sen has three patents pending on interpenetrating microstructures for nanochannel-based cargo delivery; compositions and methods for reprogramming somatic cells into induced endothelial cells; and power harvesting from fabric electrochemistry.

“Dr. Sen has proven to be an innovator and a scholar throughout his career, and his research in regenerative medicine will make a great impact in health care delivery,” said Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA, dean of IU School of Medicine. “We are grateful for all the contributions of the center’s research team and congratulate Dr. Sen on achieving this distinction from the scientific community.”

Along with Sen’s director roles, he is the J. Stanley Battersby Chair and Professor of Surgery for the IU School of Medicine Department of Surgery and is recognized as a Lilly INCITE scholar. During his career, Sen has published more than 300 peer reviewed publications and a dozen books which are cited more than 39,000 times in literature. 

Previously, he served as the John H & Mildred C Lumley Professor of Surgery and executive director of The Ohio State University Comprehensive Wound Center and director of the OSU Center for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Based Therapies. 

Sen received his Master of Science degree in human physiology from the University of Calcutta and his PhD in physiology from the University of Eastern Finland. He then trained as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California Berkeley within the Molecular and Cell Biology Department and started his career as staff scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. 

Other recipients into the NAI from Indiana University include David Clemmer, PhD, Professor and Robert & Marjorie Mann Chair in The College of Arts & Sciences Department of Chemistry; Richard DiMarchi, PhD, distinguished professor and the Linda & Jack Gill Chair in Biomolecular Science within the Department of Chemistry; and Gary Hieftje, PhD, distinguished professor and Robert & Marjorie Mann Chair in the Department of Chemistry. 

Media contact: Angie Antonopoulos; Email: 


About IU School of Medicine
IU School of Medicine is the largest medical school in the United States and is annually ranked among the top medical schools in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. The school offers high-quality medical education, access to leading medical research and rich campus life in nine Indiana cities, including rural and urban locations consistently recognized for livability.