Skip to main content

Blood Bank/ Transfusion Medicine Fellowship

The transfusion medicine fellowship program at IU School of Medicine in Indianapolis is an ACGME-accredited program that offers comprehensive training in the clinical and laboratory aspects of blood banking and transfusion medicine in a 1700-bed tertiary care academic medical center complex, as well as Versiti Blood Center of Indiana. The Division of Transfusion Medicine supports a variety of medical and surgical practices, a Level I Trauma Center, solid organ and hematopoietic stem cell transplant, cellular therapy program and the busiest therapeutic adult and pediatric apheresis service in Indiana.

The fellows have the opportunity to be trained in a variety of core transfusion medicine areas such as blood donor recruitment, collection and processing, advanced immunohematology, therapeutic apheresis, and allogeneic and autologous adult and pediatric stem cell collections. In addition, this fellowship offers training in regulatory activities, operations, and administration, as well as opportunities in clinical research. Successful graduates can choose a career in academic medicine, community or hospital blood banks or in transfusion medicine research. 

Program Faculty

52061-Gabbard, Amy

Amy P. Gabbard, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

Read Bio

38902-Soundar, Esther

Esther P. Soundar, MPH, PhD, MBBS

Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

Blood Bank/Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Program Director

Read Bio

59623-Reddy, Manasa

Manasa S. Reddy, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology & Laboratory Medicine

Read Bio


Fellows are accepted for a training period of one year and must be Board-eligible or -certified in clinical pathology, hematology or internal medicine. Stipends are commensurate with level of postgraduate training. Applicants must submit the CAP standard fellowship application, a letter of interest, curriculum vitae and three letters of reference via email to Beverly Jarrett, Fellowship Coordinator,