Skip to main content

Indiana University School of Medicine to graduate 431 doctors, scientists on Saturday


INDIANAPOLIS – More than 400 future physicians and scientists will be recognized Saturday when Indiana University School of Medicine holds its annual commencement ceremonies at 10 am in the Sagamore Ballroom of the Indiana Convention Center.

Donald E. Brown, MD, IU School of Medicine alumnus and software entrepreneur will give the keynote address. In December, Dr. Brown gifted $30 million to IU School of Medicine — the largest gift ever from an alumnus — to establish the Brown Center for Immunotherapy.

Dr. Brown’s business ventures include founding Dealership Programming Inc., Software Artistry Inc., and Interactive Intelligence. In addition to his MD, Dr. Brown holds a Bachelor of Science in physics and a Master of Science in computer science. He is currently pursuing a master’s degree in biotechnology at Johns Hopkins University.

IU School of Medicine will award:

  • 331 Doctor of Medicine degrees
  • 29 Doctor of Philosophy degrees
  • 71 Master of Science degrees

Following the formal hooding ceremony, IU School of Medicine Dean Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA, will lead the new doctors in reciting the time-honored Physician’s Oath, promising, among other things, to practice their profession “with conscience and dignity” and always considering the health of their patients first and foremost.

In a ceremony Sunday afternoon, Christopher A. Sinsabaugh, MD, current resident in radiology and imaging sciences, IU School of Medicine, will address 131 associate and bachelor’s degree graduates of the school’s Health Professions Programs. The programs include clinical laboratory science, cytotechnology, histotechnology, medical imaging technology, nuclear medicine technology, paramedic science, radiation therapy, radiography and respiratory therapy.