Skip to main content

Sadhasivam named vice chair of research for the Department of Anesthesia at Indiana University School of Medicine, anesthesiologist in chief at Riley Hospital for Children


INDIANAPOLIS — Senthilkumar Sadhasivam, MD, has accepted the position of anesthesiologist in chief at Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University Health and vice chair for research for the Department of Anesthesia, Indiana University School of Medicine. 

Dr. Sadhasivam is a graduate of Thanjavur Medical College, India. He has completed anesthesia residencies both in India (All India Institute of Medical Sciences) and at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard School of Medicine, Boston. He has also completed a pediatric anesthesia fellowship at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and a masters of public health at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Dr. Sadhasivam is currently a professor at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, where he has developed many new clinical service lines, including the perioperative pain service and services outside the operating room. He has presided over significant growth in these services with continued improvement in quality.

At Cincinnati Children’s, Dr. Sadhasivam developed an opioid pharmacogenomics and personalized perioperative care translational research program. Currently, he is the only pediatric anesthesiologist in the nation with NIH R01 funding and has published more than125 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters. He brings a strong record of mentorship. His mentees have won top national research awards, and have successfully obtained extramural funding.

Dr. Sadhasivam comes to Riley Children’s Hospital with a vision of building new exemplary clinical programs including personalized pain management in children and anesthesia for fetal surgery. In his role as vice chair for research, he will develop a Center for Anesthesia Research Excellence (CARE) to facilitate and promote clinically significant and impactful research, and provide transformational mentorship to junior faculty and fellows.