Skip to main content

IU surgeons inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Pictured left to right are General Surgery residents Elizabeth Huffman, MD, PGY 4, Angela Chen, MD, PGY 4 and Zainab Faiza, MD, PGY 2, who were among 19 physicians selected for induction into the AOA who are currently training in graduate medical programs at the IU School of Medicine.

Elizabeth Huffman, MD, Angela Chen, MD, and Zainab Faiza, MD

Four Indiana University Department of Surgery physicians were recently inducted into the 2022 Class of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.

Jonathan A. Fridell, MD, professor of surgery and chief of abdominal transplant surgery at Indiana University School of Medicine was among 10 faculty physicians who were inducted from the IU School of Medicine. Dr. Fridell joined the IU School of Medicine in 2002 and is an internationally recognized leader in organ transplantation, specifically for his work in pancreas transplantation.

Fridell, JonathanDr. Fridell was recognized for his commitment to the school’s core values and his leadership for the Abdominal Transplant Program at Indiana University. He was also the 2020 Medical Staff recipient of the IU Health President’s Values Leadership Award.

General surgery residents Angela M. Chen, MD, PGY 4, Zainab Faiza, MD, PGY 2, and Elizabeth M. Huffman, MD, PGY 4, were among a class of 19 physicians selected for induction into the AOA who are currently training in graduate medical programs with the medical school.

The general surgery residency at the IU School of Medicine is a five-year program that provides a broad-based clinical education in all facets of surgery, including surgical oncology, minimally invasive surgery, pediatric surgery and trauma. Along with a strong clinical experience, residents participate in dedicated research and professional development.

Alpha Omega Alpha is a national medical honor society founded in 1902. Physicians elected to Alpha Omega Alpha exemplify a lasting commitment to professionalism, leadership, scholarship, research and community service. As a lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician’s dedication to the profession and the art of healing.

“These residents have demonstrated the ideals of an excellent surgical resident with respect to clinical care, research and teaching,” said Michael G. House, MD, FACS, FSSO, interim chair for the Department of Surgery. “Please join me in congratulating these four physicians who represent our department extremely well on all levels of the IU School of Medicine.”


The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.

Angie Antonopoulos

Angie Antonopoulos is a Communications Generalist for the IU School of Medicine. Previously she served the Department of Surgery and the Indiana Center for Regenerative Medicine and Engineering and is now supporting the Krannert Cardiovascular Research Center for the Department of Medicine. She has more than a decade of experience in health communications for higher education, advocacy, government and contract research organizations.