Skip to main content

IU School of Medicine names new chair to lead Department of Medicine

Department of Medicine Aronoff

INDIANAPOLIS—Indiana University School of Medicine has recruited David M. Aronoff, MD, FIDSA, FAAM, for the role of chair of the Department of Medicine, effective January 3, 2022. 

A highly respected physician-scientist in the field of infectious diseases and reproductive health, and author of over 220 publications, Aronoff brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the role of chair. He is currently a professor and director of the Division of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, where he holds the Addison B. Scoville, Jr. Chair in Medicine.     

In his leadership role, Aronoff has guided the strategic growth of the division’s clinical, education and research programs, more than doubling the division’s research funding, and launched new telehealth programs and a new fellowship training program in transplant infectious diseases.

Aronoff serves in leadership roles with several national and international organizations and has directed national mentorship programs for the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) and the American Society for Microbiology (ASM). He is president-elect of the American Society for Reproductive Immunology.

“Dr. Aronoff is a highly collaborative leader and champion of interdisciplinary research, education and clinical care. His vision aligns with the Department of Medicine’s interdisciplinary approach to clinical research and patient-centered care and will advance the department to the next level of excellence,” said IU School of Medicine Dean Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA.

A proud Hoosier, Dr. Aronoff was born at the IU Medical Center and raised in Bloomington, where he earned his undergraduate degree in microbiology from Indiana University. 
He received his medical degree from Tufts University School of Medicine and completed his residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, where he also was a clinical fellow in infectious diseases, the Hugh Jackson Morgan Chief Resident of Internal Medicine at Vanderbilt University Hospital, and a postdoctoral research fellow in clinical pharmacology. Additionally, he completed a postdoctoral research fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine at University of Michigan Health System in Ann Arbor, where he joined the faculty in the Division of Infectious Diseases until his return to Vanderbilt in 2013.

The Department of Medicine at IU School of Medicine consists of 10 internal medicine specialty divisions. An accomplished team of physician-educators trains highly-skilled, compassionate generalists and specialists to be the future leaders in clinical practice, research and academia.

Aronoff, who will also hold the John B. Hickam Professor of Medicine endowed appointment, said he has a clearly defined vision for advancing the work of the Department of Medicine and is eager to return to the Hoosier state to take on this important leadership role at IU School of Medicine.

“A strong Department of Medicine inevitably benefits patients, other departments across IU School of Medicine, the affiliated health systems and the state of Indiana,” Aronoff said. “Priorities that build upon existing institutional strengths and target new opportunities can shape Indiana into one of the leading academic medicine departments in improving human health through quality, innovation, discovery, education and implementation.”


IU School of Medicine is the largest medical school in the U.S. and is annually ranked among the top medical schools in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. The school offers high-quality medical education, access to leading medical research and rich campus life in nine Indiana cities, including rural and urban locations consistently recognized for livability.