Skip to main content

Four IUSM scientists named Showalter Scholars


INDIANAPOLIS — Four scientists have been named Showalter Scholars by the Indiana University School of Medicine, the third class in the program created to recognize and reward successful young researchers at the school.

The recipients are:

  • Nickolay Brustovetsky, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmacology and toxicology, whose research focus is on mitochondrial bioenergetics, calcium signaling, and neuronal cell death in aging and age-related neurodegenerations.  
  • X. Charlie Dong, Ph.D., associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, whose research centers on regulation of nutrient and energy homeostasis by insulin and metabolic signals.
  • Shaun Grannis, M.D., associate professor of family medicine, Regenstrief Institute investigator and associate director of the Regenstrief Center for Biomedical Informatics, whose research focus is on developing, studying and implementing the underlying systems that make larger-scale clinical outcomes research possible and practical.
  • Molly Duman Scheel, Ph.D., associate professor of medical and molecular genetics at IU School of Medicine-South Bend, is recognized both nationally and internationally for her work on mosquito sensory and central nervous system development, including the first-ever targeted genetic knockdown studies of mosquito neural development.

The program, funded in part by Ralph W. and Grace M. Showalter Research Trust Fund, was created to support faculty whose scientific expertise and productivity have resulted in significant contributions to the IU School of Medicine and the greater research community.

Showalter Scholars receive $25,000 per year for three years, with the first year funded by the Showalter Trust, the second year by their academic department and the third year by the school. An additional set of Showalter Scholars is selected each year.

“We are grateful for the commitment to IU School of Medicine scientists and their research made by the Showalter Trust, and we’re pleased to be able to support the trust’s investment in this excellent group of researchers,” said David S. Wilkes, M.D., executive associate dean for research affairs at the IU School of Medicine.

Showalter Scholars are limited to full-time IU School of Medicine faculty who are either an associate professor or have held the rank of professor for no more than one year.