Skip to main content

IUPUI engineering technology faculty member named to accreditation commission


INDIANAPOLIS — A Purdue School of Engineering and Technology faculty member at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis has been named to a commission that accredits engineering programs at hundreds of colleges and universities in more than 20 countries.

Kenneth Rennels, associate professor of mechanical engineering technology, was appointed by the Board of Directors of ABET, formerly he Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, as a commission member of the 2015-16 Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission.

ABET is a nonprofit, nongovernmental organization that accredits college and university programs in the disciplines of applied science, computing, engineering and engineering technology. Each discipline has its own accreditation commission.

It accredits over 3,400 programs at nearly 700 colleges and universities in 28 countries. The organization provides specialized, programmatic accreditation that evaluates an individual program of study, rather than evaluating an institution as a whole.

The voluntary accreditation, achieved through a peer review process, provides assurance that a college or university program meets the quality standards established by the profession for which the program prepares its students.