Skip to main content

Cancer tumor researcher to receive IU School of Medicine Beering Award

Portrait of William Kaelin, M.D.

Portrait of William Kaelin, M.D.

INDIANAPOLIS — William G. Kaelin Jr., M.D., has been named the recipient of the 2014 Steven C. Beering Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biomedical Science, presented annually by the Indiana University School of Medicine.

Dr. Kaelin serves as a professor in the Department of Medicine at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at Harvard Medical School and as associate director for basic science at the Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center. His research seeks to understand how mutations affecting tumor-suppressor genes cause cancer, with a goal of laying a foundation for new anticancer therapies.

He will receive the award and present a lecture titled “The Von Hippel-Lindau Tumor Suppressor: Insights into Oxygen Sensing and Cancer” at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 21, in the Walther Hall Auditorium on the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis campus. The public is invited.

The prestigious Beering Award was named in honor of Steven C. Beering, M.D., who served as dean of the IU School of Medicine from 1974 to 1983, when he accepted the presidency of Purdue University, a position he held until 2000.