Skip to main content

IU physician-researcher elected a fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research


INDIANAPOLIS — Lawrence Einhorn, M.D., the physician-researcher who developed the cure for testicular cancer, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research.

Dr. Einhorn, Indiana University Distinguished Professor and a physician-researcher at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, will be inducted into the American Association for Cancer Research Academy Class of 2014 during a ceremony April 4 in San Diego.

The academy recognizes and honors distinguished scientists whose major scientific contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer. The fellows have been elected through a rigorous peer-review process that evaluates individuals on the basis of their stellar scientific achievements in cancer research.

“Our 2014 class of fellows includes a number of the most prestigious laboratory researchers and physician-scientists who have contributed enormously to the cancer field. We look forward to celebrating their fundamental discoveries and contributions at this year’s annual meeting,” said Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D., CEO of the American Association for Cancer Research.

Dr. Einhorn’s legacy will be forever linked with revolutionizing testicular cancer treatment. Today, more than 95 percent of all patients with this disease now survive. The survival rate for testicular patients who develop metastatic disease is now 80 percent, up from 10 percent before Dr. Einhorn’s revolutionary therapy.

His clinical research focuses on solid tumor oncology, specifically within the fields of genitourinary and lung cancers.

After receiving his medical degree from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Dr. Einhorn completed fellowships at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston and the IU School of Medicine in Indianapolis.

Dr. Einhorn has published more than 450 peer-reviewed articles. He has received the most prestigious awards of the American Association for Cancer Research (Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award) and of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (Karnofsky Award), as well as the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor and the General Motors Kettering Prize. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States that promotes scholarly research in the sciences and humanities.