Skip to main content

IUPUI luncheon honors Spirit of Philanthropy Award winners

INDIANAPOLIS — Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis today bestowed the IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy Award upon more than 30 individuals and organizations during the annual Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon and ceremony.

For 24 years, the Spirit of Philanthropy Awards, one of the most prestigious philanthropy awards given by IUPUI, have recognized those who have had a profound impact on IUPUI’s growth and development through their gifts and voluntary service.

“The annual Spirit of Philanthropy event allows us to honor and thank those who have helped IUPUI become a great urban campus,” said IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz. “It is a celebration of the special partnership this campus has with the central Indiana community and those whose gifts have allowed us to continue our work, improve our work, and increase our impact.”

Schools and academic units at IUPUI nominated indivudals and organizations as award recipients.  A complete listing of honorees is available online.

The Kelly School of Business selected Roger and Barbara Schmenner as recipients of the Spirit of Philanthropy Award.

Roger Schmenner is professor emeritus of operations management and the former Randall L. Tobias Chair at the Kelley School of Business Indianapolis. While serving the Kelley School as the associate dean for Indianapolis programs, Roger and wife, Barbara, raised two sons (William and Andrew). While their philanthropy across IUPUI is widespread, they established the Schmenner Faculty Fellowship Endowment to support colleagues at Kelley, for which IUPUI honors them as Spirit of Philanthropy Award winners.