Skip to main content

Donors, volunteers receive IUPUI philanthropy awards


INDIANAPOLIS — The IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy Award, one of the most prestigious philanthropy awards given by Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, will be bestowed upon more than 30 individuals and organizations at this year’s Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon and ceremony sponsored by IUPUI, Indiana University Foundation and the IU School of Philanthropy at IUPUI.

For 24 years, the Spirit of Philanthropy Awards have recognized those who have had a profound impact on IUPUI’s growth and development through their gifts and voluntary service. “The annual Spirit of Philanthropy event allows us to honor and thank those who have helped IUPUI become a great urban campus,” said IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz. “It is a celebration of the special partnership this campus has with the central Indiana community and those whose gifts have allowed us to continue our work, improve our work, and increase our impact.”

WHAT: Spirit of Philanthropy Awards Luncheon

WHEN: Tuesday, April 2, 11:30 a.m.

WHERE: IUPUI Campus Center, 420 University Blvd., Room 450

In honor of their contribution to IUPUI’s success, this year’s honorees will receive a framed print by artist Casey Richards titled “Roman Candle.” The following individuals and organizations, listed by nominating school or academic unit, will be honored at the 2013 IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon:

IUPUI Intercollegiate Athletics

Dr. David Stocum

 IU Kelley School of Business

Roger and Barbara Schmenner

Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus

Duke Energy Corporation

 IUPUI Center for Service and Learning

Indianapolis Public Library-Haughville Branch

IU School of Dentistry

Drs. Kenneth and Carol Jean Braun

IUPUI Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Powers & Sons Construction

IUPUI Division of Continuing Studies

Martindale Brightwood Alliance for Educational Success

IU School of Education

Swisher Foundation

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

D.J. Angus-Scientech Educational Foundation

IU School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

Ronald A. Cram

IU Herron School of Art and Design

Herbert Simon Family Foundation

 IU School of Informatics

Mary Beth Stull

 IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law

Reed S. Oslan

IU School of Liberal Arts

Gail Plater

IU School of Medicine

Barb and Steve Healey

IU School of Nursing

Donald and Sonna Merk

IU School of Optometry

Dr. David Hormuth

IU School of Philanthropy

Karen Lake Buttrey

 IU School of Physical Education and Tourism Management

P. Nicholas and Lori Kellum

School of Science

Ellen A. Chernoff, Ph.D.

IU School of Social Work

Bill and Ann Moreau

IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Jim Schellinger

IUPUI Division of Student Life

Indiana Members Credit Union

IUPUI University College

W.W. Grainger, Inc.

IUPUI University Library

CSO Architects, HKS Maregatti Interiors, RJE Business Interiors, Rowland Design, Inc.– Learning Spaces Partners