Skip to main content

Indiana University School of Medicine Graduates 265 Physicians Saturday


Saturday’s commencement will begin at noon in the Sagamore Ballroom at the Indiana Convention Center.

Indiana University Executive Vice President and IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz, Ph.D., and D. Craig Brater, M.D., dean and Walter J. Daly Professor at the IU School of Medicine, will speak to the new graduates and present diplomas.

Following the formal hooding ceremony, Indiana’s newest physicians will repeat in unison the time-honored Physician’s Oath, promising, among other things, to practice their profession “with conscience and dignity” and always considering the health of their patients first and foremost.

The four years of medical school begins a physician’s educational journey into a medical career. Saturday’s graduates will begin residency training in their chosen specialties this summer. The length of that training varies depending on the specialty from two to seven years.