Skip to main content
<p>The Association of American Medical Colleges will present its 2009 Women in Medicine Leadership Development Award to the Indiana University School of Medicine Nov. 10 at the AAMC national meeting in Boston.</p>

IU School of Medicine Receives National Women in Medicine Leadership Award

The award will be accepted by Mary E. Dankoski, Ph.D., on behalf of the IU School of Medicine’s Women’s Advisory Council and the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development. Dr. Dankoski is the assistant dean for faculty affairs and professional development and co-chairs the Women’s Advisory Council. The Lester D. Bibler Scholar, Dr. Dankoski is an associate professor of clinical family medicine and interim co-chair of the Department of Family Medicine.

The AAMC leadership award showcases the commitment of the IU medical school leadership to help women realize their potential and improve the environment for women in academic medicine and science.

“Female medical students interested in academic medical careers and those interested in developing the best clinical skills possible have benefited from the commitment of Dr. Dankoski and her colleagues at the School of Medicine,” said D. Craig Brater, M.D., dean of the IU School of Medicine. “It is an honor to recognize colleagues of this group who accepted the challenge to improve career opportunities for women in an historically male dominated career.”

“This award is a great honor,” said Dr. Dankoski. “The IU School of Medicine recognizes that investing in the advancement of women is imperative in order to recruit, retain and advance the best faculty and student body possible. We aim for a culture where all members of the medical school community can participate fully and achieve maximum success.”

The Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development and the Women’s Advisory Council have instituted several new initiatives to promote leadership opportunities for women, including increased support for professional development and career advancement opportunities; increased recognition of the contributions of women; a women student/faculty mentoring program and advocacy related to institutional policies.