Skip to main content
<p>INDIANAPOLIS — George W. Sledge Jr., M.D., a nationally recognized pioneer in the development of novel therapies for breast cancer, has been elected to become president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology for a one-year term beginning in June 2010. He will take office as president-elect during ASCO&#8217;s 45th Annual Meeting in Orlando in June.</p>

Indiana University Breast Oncologist Elected ASCO President

Dr. Sledge is the Ballve-Lantero Professor of Oncology and professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine.

“Being elected to serve as ASCO president is an honor and a privilege. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the board of directors to support all types of cancer research and address the challenges of the modern-day practice of oncology,” said Dr. Sledge. “ASCO institutes real change by uniting all members of the oncology community with the common goal of improving cancer care and prevention and ensuring that all patients with cancer receive the highest quality care.”

Dr. Sledge joined the Indiana University School of Medicine faculty in 1983, after completing his residency at St. Louis University and his fellowship at the University of Texas, San Antonio. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Wisconsin and his medical degree from Tulane University. His research interests include molecular and tumor biology, growth factors, and anti-angiogenic therapy related to breast cancer.

“Every new member that is elected to ASCO’s Board of Directors brings a unique perspective that will shape the society’s future goals and practices,” said Allen S. Lichter, M.D., chief executive officer of ASCO. “I am particularly looking forward to working with Dr. Sledge and watching how his 25 years as an ASCO member will define the legacy that he leaves on the society’s efforts to improve cancer care.”

Dr. Sledge has been recognized numerous times for his breast cancer research. In addition to being elected to the top position at ASCO, he recently received the Jill Rose Award – Breast Cancer Research Foundation (2007) and the 2006 Komen Foundation Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction. He is also listed in “America’s Top Doctors” (2001-2007).