Skip to main content
<p>Fifty-six Indiana University School of Medicine students recently were welcomed into the Indiana chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha honor medical society.</p>

Honor Society Inducts Members from Indiana University School of Medicine

AOA is the only national honor medical society in the world and elects outstanding medical students, graduates, alumni, faculty and others to its ranks. The IU School of Medicine students, alumni, residents and faculty were honored during a banquet April 4 in Indianapolis.

The new AOA members and their hometowns:

Class of 2008

    Peter Carl Bergmann (Fort Collins, Colo.)
    Jeffrey Melson Clarke (Pittsburgh, Penn.)
    Sara Elizabeth Cook (Rockville, Ind.)
    Elizabeth Ann Gates (Lebanon, Ind.)
    Shawn Travis Greathouse (Tell City, Ind.)
    Marc S. Haro (Walnut Creek, Calif.)
    Cara Freeland Hennings (Schererville, Ind.)
    Andrea L. Jester (Santa Claus, Ind.)
    Jamie Lynn Knuth (Berne, Ind.)
    Nicholas Andrew Koontz (Alexandria, Ind.)
    Margaret Darden Kramer (Carmel, Ind.)
    Hans Chulhee Lee (West Lafayette, Ind.)
    Pei-Fen Lin (Fort Wayne, Ind.)
    Andrea Elizabeth Losch (Granger, Ind.)
    Anubhav N. Mathur (Carmel, Ind.)
    Daniel Benjamin Moore (Evansville, Ind.)
    Adam Steven Morgan (Princeton, Ind.)
    Daniel J. Musick (Evansville, Ind.)
    Megan Beth O’Neill (Angola, Ind.)
    Kellie A. Park (Madison, Ind.)
    Chirag G. Patel (Terre Haute, Ind.)
    Cara Ann Pecina (Chesterton, Ind.)
    Jonathan Addison Peng (San Diego, Calif.)
    Brett C. Pieper (Greenwood, Ind.)
    Laura Ann Sech (Kalamazoo, Mich.)
    Nathan Eric Thompson (Schererville, Ind.)
    Emily Walkey (Battle Ground, Ind.)
    Patrick C. Walz (Fort Wayne, Ind.)
    Adam M. Werne (Jasper, Ind.)
    Diana Margaret Winston (Scarsdale, NY)
    Yuriy O. Zhukov (Kiev, Ukraine)
    Matthew M. Zipse (Fort Wayne, Ind.)

Class of 2008 Elected as Juniors in 2006

    Daniel Joseph Altman (Sellersburg, Ind.)
    Christopher A. Benner (Holland, Mich.)
    Travis R. Hays (Cambridge City, Ind.)
    Brett W. Jagger (LaPorte, Ind.)
    Justin R. Lewis (Indianapolis)
    Andre G. Melendez (Martinsville, Ind.)
    David Andrew Nordin (South Haven, Mich.)
    Stephanie Ann Riggen (Indianapolis)
    Megan S. Sanders (Kendallville, Ind.)
    Satya Mary Sekar (Bluffton, Ind.)
    Brian Jeffrey Veerkamp (Fort Wayne, Ind.)
    Adam Daniel Will (Monroeville, Ind.)

Class of 2009

    Jesse Allen Beery (Elkhart, Ind.)
    Parin Bhayani (India)
    Joseph L. Hunt (Valparaiso, Ind.)
    Rachel D. Manley (Fort Worth, Texas)
    Peter J. Mehta (West Lafayette, Ind.)
    Samuel L. Oyer (Middlebury, Ind.)
    Neal Balvant Patel (Indianapolis)
    Matthew A. Rider (Elkhart, Ind.)
    Emily A. Ruden (Carmel, Ind.)
    Lori Jacquemin Sanford (Hamilton, Ohio)
    Christopher D. Stephens (Muncie, Ind.)
    Allison Kasey Taraska (Evansville, Ind.)

Honorary Members

    IU School of Medicine Alumni:
    Lisa Ellen Harris, M.D. (Class of 1989)
    Douglas J. Schwartzentruber, M.D. (Class of 1982)

    IU School of Medicine Faculty:
    Marilyn J. Bull, M.D. (Developmental Pediatrician)
    Robert D. Tarver, M.D. (Radiology) 

    Daniel H. Fulkerson, M.D. (Neurosurgery)
    Joshua W. Garrett, M.D. (Radiology)
    Ben M. Tsai, M.D. (Surgery)