Skip to main content

Nominations sought for 2024 Watanabe Prize in Translational Research

an illustration of a man and woman standing with a trophy between them

Indiana University School of Medicine is accepting nominations until May 1, 2023, for the 2024 August M. Watanabe Prize in Translational Research.

The Watanabe Prize is one of the nation’s largest and most prestigious research awards recognizing senior investigators focused on shepherding scientific discoveries into new therapies for patients. Nominees should be members of the scientific or medical communities who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in translational research.

The winner will receive $100,000 and will spend Sept. 18-20, 2024, in Indianapolis as a vising dignitary, sharing insights and knowledge with audiences at IU School of Medicine and its partner institutions. The winner will also be the keynote speaker for the 2024 Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute Annual Meeting.

Nomination process:

Submit the following complete nomination materials to with the nominee’s name in the subject line:

  • A copy of the nominee’s current curriculum vitae (CV).
  • A letter of nomination, including a detailed description of the nominee’s major translational research accomplishments and the impact of these contributions to the fields of science and/or medicine. Letters should be submitted on official letterhead and signed by the nominator.

Note: The 2024 nominee must be available to travel to Indianapolis from Sept. 18-20, 2024.

The deadline for all nomination materials is May 1, 2023. Please email any questions about the nomination process to or call 317-278-2874.

The Watanabe Prize is named in honor of the late August M. Watanabe, a titan in the field of translational research in both academia and industry, who impacted the health of people around the world as a leader at IU School of Medicine and Eli Lilly and Company.

Watanabe began his career at Indiana University in 1972 and served as chair of the Department of Medicine from 1983 to 1990. From there, he joined Eli Lilly and Company, where he was ultimately named executive vice president, overseeing the launch of 11 drugs and doubling the size of the company’s research and development organization.

Past Watanabe Prize recipients include Huda Zoghbi, MD (2023); Adrian R. Krainer, PhD (2022); Nancy J. Brown, MD (2021); Brian Druker, MD (2020); David Holtzman, MD (2019); Jean Bennett, MD, PhD (2018); Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD (2016); Carl H. June, MD (2015); and Tadataka Yamada, MD (2013).

The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.
Default Author Avatar IUSM Logo

IU School of Medicine

With more than 60 academic departments and specialty divisions across nine campuses and strong clinical partnerships with Indiana’s most advanced hospitals and physician networks, Indiana University School of Medicine is continuously advancing its mission to prepare healers and transform health in Indiana and throughout the world.