Skip to main content

Community Physician Award

Across Indiana and around the world, there are physicians whose skills and dedication are precious assets to their communities. Named in honor of George Sorrells Jr., a 1962 graduate, the Community Physician Award honors those graduates. To be eligible, a nominee must be a medical graduate or have completed their residency or fellowship at IU School of Medicine.

Submit a nomination for the Community Physician Award

2019 Recipient

Sumeet Bhatia, MD

Past Recipients 

  • 2017-2019

    2019 - Sumeet Bhatia, MD

    2018 - Kenneth E. Bobb, MD'52

    2017 - Terry R. Brown, MD'77