Skip to main content

Distinguished Faculty Award

The Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD Distinguished Faculty Award has been presented for nearly three decades to single out an educator who demonstrates a passion for educating students, collaborating with colleagues, pushing the boundaries of research, or providing outstanding medical care. Named after a past dean of IU School of Medicine and a former IUPUI chancellor, this award is bestowed on current or former faculty of IU School of Medicine. Nominate an IU School of Medicine alumni for the Distinguished Faculty Award.

2018 Distinguished Faculty Award Recipient - James E. Lingeman, MD

Distinguished Faculty Award - LingemanOver nearly four decades, James E. Lingeman, MD’74, has achieved a feat few physicians can claim: changing how medicine is practiced in their specialty. Yet Lingeman, a professor of urology, has done exactly that since joining the faculty at Indiana University in 1980.

“Dr. Lingeman is indisputably, the most recognized leader in the United States – and perhaps the
world – in minimally-invasive surgery,” said Michael O. Koch, MD, who chairs the Department of Urology at the School of Medicine.

In the early 1980s, he was the first physician in Indiana to use high-energy shock waves to break up kidney stones, a procedure that only requires patients to don a hospital gown and be placed under anesthesia for an hour. Later he was a leader in performing and teaching keyhole surgeries, where a small incision of the skin allows a surgeon to treat larger kidney stones by inserting a tube and laser fibers to break up the stone.

Finally, in the early 2000s, Lingeman pioneered the removal of an enlarged prostate through a transurethral procedure. Using a resectoscope, a physician can trim away tissue that’s blocking urine flow, and it’s now considered the standard of care in the field. “While a difficult technique to learn he has schooled many others in this approach who have themselves become leaders in the field,” Koch said. “Top-tier institutions around the United States send their faculty to train with Jim Lingeman.”

He also balanced innovation with teaching and research. Since 1988, Lingeman has overseen urology residents at Methodist Hospital, where’s he practiced for the bulk of his career. He has also trained 23 fellows, all of whom currently respected physicians.

As a researcher, Lingeman has published more than 300 peer- reviewed articles and 64 book chapters. Meanwhile, his clinical interests helped him embark on a 30-year period of continuous funding from the National Institutes of Health to study the development of stones and the effectiveness of lithotripsy.

“Dr. Lingeman is one of our finest faculty members. His dedication to science, medicine, patients,
and learners is exemplary,” said Jay L. Hess, MD, PhD, MHSA, dean of the School of Medicine. 

Past Recipients

2016 2015
Stephen Jay, MD ’66 Lindley Wagner, MD ’59
2014 2013
Eugene M. Helveston, MD, Residency ‘66 Roland B. McGrath, MD, Res ’75
2012 2011
Mary R. Ciccarelli, MD, Res ’86
John C. Kincaid, MD ’75
Joseph F. Fitzgerald, MD ’65
2010 2009
John W. Brown, MD ’70
David B. Burr, PhD
Eric S. Williams, MD ‘71
2008 2007
Hal E. Broxmeyer, PhD
Richard L. Schreiner, MD
Talmage R. Bosin, PhD ’67
John F. O’Malley, PhD
2006 2005
Merrill Grayson, MD Lyn Means, MD ’77
2004 2003
Paul Nelson, MD Robert Harris, PhD
2002 2001
Robert W. Holden, MD, ’63 C. Conrad Johnston, Jr., MD
2000 1999
Ting-Kai Li, MD Joe C. Christian, MD
Richard E. Lindseth, MD
1998 1997
Panayotis Iatridis, MD
Stuart A. Kleit, MD, ’65
John F. Williams Jr., MD
James W. Smith, MD
1996 1995
Jay L. Grosfeld, MD John P. Donohue, MD
1994 1993
Mark L. Dyken Jr., MD, ’54 Richard C. Powell, MD
1992 1991
Joseph Mamlin, MD, ’66
James Carter, MD, ’66
James E. Bennett, MD
1990 1989
Eugene C. Klatte, MD ’52 Arthur L. Norins, MD
1988 1987
Robert A. Garrett, MD, ’43 Morris Green, MD, ’44