Skip to main content
Awards are given to alumni to honor outstanding alumni and faculty for their contributions. Alumni are encouraged to submit nominations for awards.

Alumni Awards

Indiana University School of Medicine knows each of its graduates strives for excellence and for ways to improve health. Each year, alumni recognize peers and faculty who embody that pursuit. We encourage you to submit nominations for four honors. Recipients are honored at the Strawberry Shortcake Luncheon, an annual tradition stretching back seven decades.

Submit a Nomination

The process is easy. Using an online form, tell us who you are nominating and why the alum merits an award. After you submit a nomination, the Office of Alumni Relations will follow up with you. Additional materials, such as a curriculum vitae and letters of recommendation, are typically requested.


Complete the following form to make a nomination for the Indiana University School of Medicine alumni awards.

Contact Ryan Bowman, director of alumni relations, at (317) 278-2123 or

Nomination Form


  • Distinguished Medical Alumni Award
    This honor, which has been presented since 1970, recognizes alumni of IU School of Medicine who bring honor to the school through outstanding professional achievement or by performing extraordinary service to their medical alma mater. All IU School of Medicine graduates and trainees are eligible. This is the highest alumni award the IU School of Medicine presents annually.

    Past Recipients

  • Early Career Achievement Award
    For almost a decade, the School of Medicine alumni board has selected a graduate who has made a quick mark in medicine or in service to the School. A nominee must have graduated within the past 15 years to be eligible. Former house staff who completed training within the past 15 years are also eligible.

    Past Recipients

  • George W. Sorrells Jr., MD, Community Physician Award
    Named after George Sorrells, Jr., MD (’62), this award is for distinguished service in community practice. To be eligible for the award, alumni must have graduated with a medical degree or completed a residency or fellowship at IU School of Medicine. Both practicing and retired alumni are considered.

    Past Recipients

  • Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD, Distinguished Faculty Award
    The award has been presented for nearly three decades and recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates a passion for educating students, collaborating with colleagues, pushing the boundaries of research, or providing outstanding medical care. The award is named after a past dean of the medical school and a former IUPUI chancellor. Current or former faculty members are eligible.

    Past Recipients