Skip to main content

Distinguished Medical Alumni Award

The Distinguished Medical Alumni Award has been presented since 1970 to recognize alumni of IU School of Medicine who’ve honored the school by standing out professionally or performing extraordinary service to their alma mater. All IU School of Medicine graduates and trainees are eligible. Nominate an IU School of Medicine alumni for the Distinguished Medical Alumni Award.

2018 Recipient - Myron Weinberger, MD'63

Distinguished Medical Alumni Award - WeinbergerA common piece of advice for individuals, even those without hypertension, is to cut back on salt intake. The scientific basis for this is due to the  pioneering work of Myron H. Weinberger, MD’63 who served on the IU School of Medicine faculty for over five decades. He and his colleagues, including Dr. Friedrich C. Luft and others at IU, worked in the Specialized Center of Research (SCOR) in Hypertension, one of five such centers supported by the NIH in the US. This incubator attracted scientists and fellows who pursued hypertension research throughout the world.

Weinberger began his research career at Stanford University, after completing his internship and residency in Internal Medicine at IU. He was the first to identify the high doses of estrogen in birth-control pills as a cause of hypertension in women. He developed one of the first radioimmunoassays to measure renin and aldosterone in blood that enhanced research in the field of sodium metabolism. This led to many new findings of the causes and treatments of hypertension. He was also one of the first to study the newly developed classes of drugs blocking components of the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system, as well as other new antihypertensive drugs including calcium channel and beta blockers. Six additional NIH grants investigated newer aspects of these findings leading to reduction in heart disease and stroke.

Weinberger directed the Hypertension Research Center, published over 250 peer-reviewed scientific papers and 25 books/book chapters, while conducting a busy referral practice treating hypertensive patients from the US and Europe.

To longtime friends and colleagues, Weinberger’s impact is even more extraordinary given the fact that he was born profoundly deaf and learned to read lips as well as books by the age of 4. In the third grade he obtained a hearing aid and embarked on a lifetime of adaptation, determined to become a physician despite repeated advice that it would not be possible.

“This disability did not deter his august achievements, and one must conclude that his achievements are even more remarkable by way of his perseverance and dedication to overcome any handicap to achieve academic excellence,” said Robert W. Holden, M.D., Dean Emeritus of the School of Medicine. 

Past Recipients

2016 2015
David L. Nahrwold, MD’60, Res’65 Charles M. Clark, Jr., BA’60, MD’63
Charles J. Dietzen, MD’87
2014 2013
Sharon P. Andreoli, MD’78, Res’81
William E. Segar, MD’47, Res’51
Lisa E. Harris, MD’83, Res’91
Frank W. Sellke, MD’81
2012 2011
William R. Cast, MD’62
Robert S. Dittus, MD’78, Res’81
Rodney C. Perkins, MD’61
2010 2009
Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD Res’70 David E. Longnecker, MD’64
Ronald D. Miller, MD’64
Robert K. Stoelting, MD’64
2008 2007
Jean A. Creek, MD’52
Adam M. Robinson, MD’76
John N. Pittman, MD’57
George F. Rapp, MD’57
2006 2005
Clarence W. Boone, MD’67
Phyllis V. Irwin, MD’54
John Pless, MD’63
2004 2003
William Dalton, MD’80
Donald Rudy, MD’56
Merrill Ritter, MD’63
Eugene Tardy, MD’60
2002 2001
Robert W. Schrier, MD’62 Raymond W. Nicholson, Jr., MD’55
2000 1999
Robert R. Hattery, MD’64 Lawrence Rink, MD’66
August M. Watanabe, MD’67
1998 1997
Jane E. Henney, MD’73
David A. Wolf, MD’82
David A. Hamburg, MD’47
1996 1995
William H. Beeson, MD’76 William K. Nasser, MD’61
Virgil T. DeVault, MD’29
1994 1993
Paul Siebenmorgen, MD’44A Deborah I. Allen, MD’76
1992 1990
A. Janelle Goetcheus, MD’65 Joseph E. Walther, MD’36
Fred W. Dahling, MD’56
1988 1987
Harold M. Manifold, MD’45 Malcolm O. Scamahorn, MD’43
1986 1985
Ernest M. Steury, MD’57 Robert A. Garrett, MD’43
Suzanne B. Knoebel, MD’60
1984 1983
Roy H. Behnke, MD’46
George T. Lukemeyer, MD’47
J. Stanley Battersby, MD’39
1982 1981
Olga Bonke-Booher, MD’32
Lowell H. Steen, MD’48
Lester D. Bibler, MD’25
V. Kenneth Stoelting, MD’36
1980 1979
Joseph M. Black, MD’44
Harvey Feigenbaum, MD’58
Charles Fisch, MD’44
Frank Ramsey, MD’27
James O. Ritchey, MD’18
1977 1976
Brandt F. Steel, MD’32 Edwin Boldrey, MD’32
1975 1974
Clyde Culbertson, MD’31 Kenneth G. Kohlstaedt, MD’32
1973 1972
Andrew Offutt, MD’40 Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD’44
1971 1970
Otis R. Bowen, MD’42 Lowell T. Coggeshall, MD’28