Skip to main content

IU cancer researcher inducted into international hall of fame


INDIANPOLIS – An Indiana University cancer researcher has been inducted into an international nursing hall of fame.

Victoria Champion, Ph.D., R.N., Distinguished Professor at the Indiana University School of Nursing and a researcher at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, was one of 19 nurse researchers inducted into the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. The induction was this week during the 24th International Nursing Research Congress in Prague, Czech Republic.

The International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves, according to the Honor Society of Nursing.

Dr. Champion’s research in behavioral oncology has provided significant knowledge that has led to interventions and the discovery of cancer at earlier and more curable stages. Her research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health for more than two decades, and she is using interactive technology to test format delivery and cost-effectiveness for breast cancer screening.

Dr. Champion also studies quality-of-life issues in breast cancer survivors and is pilot testing interventions to increase patient/provider communication.

Dr. Champion serves as associate director of population science and co-leader of the Cancer Prevention and Control research program at the IU Simon Cancer Center, scientific director of the Behavioral Cooperative Oncology Group Symptom Management Center for the Mary Margaret Walther Program at the IU School of Nursing and is a member of the executive committee for the Indiana Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute.

In 2008, Dr. Champion was appointed to the National Cancer Advisory Board by President George Bush. NCAB is an 18-member board that advises the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services and the director of the National Cancer Institute. She will remain on the board until 2014.