Skip to main content

Hobgood to Lead Indiana University Department of Emergency Medicine



Most recently, Dr. Hobgood served as an associate professor and vice chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Active in curriculum development, she served as associate dean for Curriculum and Educational Development and as director of the Office of Education Development from 2004 to 2008. She is a 2009 Fellow of the UNC Academy of Educators and a recipient of the AMA-Women Physician’s Council Mentor Recognition Award.

Medical education is a primary interest of Dr. Hobgood. In June, she was named  president-elect for the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. She also is an oral examiner for the American Board of Emergency Medicine, a four-year member of the accreditation council for Graduate Medical Education, an invited participant in the 2006-2008 American Medical Association Initiative to Transform Medical Education and she chairs the American College of Emergency Physicians. 

A native of Roxboro, N.C., Dr. Hobgood received her medical degree from the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill. She completed residence training in emergency medicine and family medicine at the UNC Hospitals.

She succeeds Roland B. (Rolly) McGrath, M.D., who has served as chair since July 1, 1999.