Skip to main content

Indiana University School of Medicine Graduates 303 Physicians Saturday


Saturday’s commencement will begin at 10 a.m. in the Sagamore Ballroom at the Indiana Convention Center.

With more than 1,300 students enrolled in the four-year program, the IU School of Medicine is the nation’s second largest public medical school exceeded by the University of Illinois School of Medicine with a total enrollment of 1,426.

Indiana University Executive Vice President and IUPUI Chancellor Charles R. Bantz, Ph.D., and D. Craig Brater, M.D., dean and Walter J. Daly Professor at the IU School of Medicine and IU vice president of university clinical affairs, will speak to the new graduates and present diplomas.

Following the formal hooding ceremony, Indiana’s newest physicians will repeat in unison the time-honored Physician’s Oath, promising, among other things, to practice their profession “with conscience and dignity” and always considering the health of their patients first and foremost.

The four years of medical school begins a physician’s educational journey into a medical career. Saturday’s graduates will begin residency training in their chosen specialties this summer. The length of that training varies depending on the specialty from two to seven years.