Skip to main content
<p>The Indiana University-Kenya Partnership will be honored by the International Center of Indianapolis as the recipient of its annual International Citizen of the Year Award to be presented in September.</p>

International Center of Indianapolis Honors IU-Kenya Partnership

“We are thrilled to honor such a deserving and philanthropic organization as the IU-Kenya Partnership,” says Diane Thomas, ICI President and CEO. “Long before the current events in Kenya put a spotlight on this country, the recipient of this year’s International Citizen of the Year had spent years exemplifying ICI’s motto: “Indiana can change the world, and the world can change Indiana.'”

The Indiana University-Kenya Partnership began in 1989 when the Indiana University School of Medicine and Moi University School of Medicine in Kenya agreed to join together to develop leaders in health care for both the United States and Africa. That mission inspired this team to provide invaluable training to future generations of health care providers on both continents.

The Indiana-Kenya Partnership continues to respond to the HIV/AIDS crisis through its Academic Model for Prevention and Treatment of HIV/AIDS (AMPATH), which treats over 60,000 HIV-positive patients at 19 sites in both urban and rural Kenya.

“We are grateful that this award recognizes the many Kenyans and Hoosiers who have worked together for nearly 20 years to build relationships of trust at the same time we build systems of care,” says Robert Einterz, M.D., Director of the IU-Kenya Partnership and Associate Dean of International Programs for the IU School of Medicine.

In addition to the 2008 International Citizen of the Year recipient, ICI is seeking to recognize additional groups or organizations that have a unique tie between Indiana and Kenya. The deadline for submission is April 30. For additional information on the nomination process, see or call 317-955-5150 for additional information.

ICI is honored to have the following Honorary Co-Chairs for the 2008 International Citizen of the Year, D. Craig Brater, M.D., IU School of Medicine Dean and IU vice president of Life Sciences and John Lechleiter Ph.D., President and CEO of Eli Lilly.

The International Citizen of the Year Award was established in 1985 by the Board of Directors of ICI to honor a foreign-born or Indiana resident who has made an outstanding contribution to Indiana and the world in the fields of business, culture, education, government, medicine, research, sports, media and/or community service. Past recipients include: the Honorable Richard Lugar, Tony George, Christel DeHaan, James T. Morris and Randall Tobias.