Skip to main content

Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology

Indiana University School of Medicine, a national leader in research, education and clinical care, is announcing the search for chair of the Department of Ophthalmology. This is an extraordinary opportunity for a visionary leader to provide strategic leadership for all aspects of the department, including education, research and clinical care.   

View the position and apply

Nominate a candidate

a faculty member speaks in class in front of a monitor display in the glick eye institute

Department of Ophthalmology 

The Department of Ophthalmology boasts a rich tradition of teaching, research and service to Indiana residents since its inception in 1908.  

Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology is committed to training tomorrow's ophthalmologists and to advancing treatments and prevention of eye diseases and vision disorders through research. The department has invested in talented scientists and faculty known for their clinical expertise. Work done within the department is guided by the core values of excellence, integrity, diversity, cooperation and respect for all individuals.  

Learn more

Search process milestones

September–October 2023

Search launch
Open forum
Applicant pool development

October–November 2023

Application reviews
Committee interviews

November 2023–January 2024

Finalist interviews
Negotiation and offer


If you have questions about the search or wish to speak with a committee member, please contact us.

Contact us

Search Committee

51914-Gutmann, Laurie

Laurie Gutmann, MD

Pronouns: She/her/hers

Chair and Professor  
Department of Neurology 
Indiana University School of Medicine/IU Health Physicians 
Co-Director, IU School of Medicine-IU Health Neuroscience Institute 

Read Bio Laurie Gutmann, MD

5086-Bosslet, Gabriel

Gabriel T. Bosslet, MD, MA

 Pronouns: he/him/his

Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development 
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine 
Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology 
Director, Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine 
Affiliate Faculty Member, Charles Warren Fairbanks Center for Medical Ethics 

Read Bio Gabriel T. Bosslet, MD, MA

23264-Boente, Charline

Charline S. Boente, MD, MS

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Pediatric Ophthalmology 
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology 
Ophthalmology Residency Program Director 
Indiana University School of Medicine
Riley Hospital for Children 

Read Bio Charline S. Boente, MD, MS

12492-Holley, Matthew

Matthew Holley, PhD

Pronouns: he/him/his

Vice Chair of Faculty & Staff Affairs and Professional Development 
Assistant Professor of Clinical Family Medicine 
Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs & Professional Development 

Read Bio Matthew Holley, PhD

Pete Kollbaum

Pete Kollbaum, MD, PhD

Pronouns: he/him/his

Associate Dean for Research 
Director of the Borish Center for Ophthalmic Research  
Indiana University School of Optometry 

Read Bio

23627-Lamb, Bruce

Bruce T. Lamb, PhD

Pronouns: he/him/his

Executive Director, Paul and Carole Stark Neurosciences Research Institute 
Co-Director, Neurosciences Institute of Excellence 
Distinguished Professor 
Roberts Family Professor of Alzheimer's Disease Research 
Professor of Medical & Molecular Genetics 
Professor of Psychiatry 
Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology 

Read Bio Bruce T. Lamb, PhD

5100-Evans-Molina, Carmella

Carmella Evans-Molina, PhD, MS, MD

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Eli Lilly Foundation Professor of Pediatric Diabetes 
Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine, Cellular & Integrative Physiology, 
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology 
Director, IU Center for Diabetes and Metabolic Diseases (CDMD) 
Diabetes Program Director, Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research 
Director of the Indiana Diabetes Research Center Islet and Physiology Core 
Staff Physician, RLR VAMC 

Read Bio Carmella Evans-Molina, PhD, MS, MD

63308-Rosmarin, David

David Rosmarin, MA, MD

Pronouns: he/him/his

Chair, Department of Dermatology 
Associate Professor of Dermatology 
Kampen-Norins Scholar in Dermatology  

Read Bio David Rosmarin, MA, MD

16658-Ting, Jonathan

Jonathan Y. Ting, MD, MS, MBA

Pronouns: he/him/his

Richard T. Miyamoto Professor & Chair 
Department of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery 

Read Bio Jonathan Y. Ting, MD, MS, MBA