Skip to main content

Have a favorite professor? Nominate them for the 2021 Trustees’ Teaching Award

Faculty member showing two medical students a course textbook

It’s no secret that medical students value amazing faculty. Being in labs, lectures or on rotations with faculty who are engaging, inspiring, motivating and dynamic makes the medical educational experience worthwhile for students. One way medical students can highlight excellent faculty is by nominating their favorite professors for the 2021 Trustees’ Teaching Award. Nominations are due by January 27, 2021.

Students past and present have expressed appreciation and gratitude for faculty who have been their favorite teacher, mentor and advocate. One such medical student, Sarah Ali, nominated Zeynep Salih, MD, assistant professor of clinical pediatrics for this award last year.

Image of Zeynep Salih, MD“Ever since I met Dr. Salih, I have consistently seen her demonstrate a positive attitude and be a positive role model in all aspects in her field. No matter the difficult task, she always puts forth an optimistic view. Dr. Salih has not only impacted my academic life, but also influenced me to be the best person I can be. With her valuable advice, guidance and experience I have made significant progress on a pilot study that is helping us take the next step in a long-term plan,” said Ali in her nomination.

There are many faculty across the nine-campus system who share a passion for teaching, such as former recipient David Boone, PhD, associate professor of microbiology and immunology at IU School of Medicine-South Bend.

Image of David Boone, PhDBoone’s contributions to the classroom and his teaching style stood out to medical student John Stillson, “Dr. Boone keeps the class material exciting and relevant through referencing his current research, that of fellow colleagues in his field and providing personal anecdotes. I have seen him make numerous personal sacrifices for students, from providing lunch for us after a long morning of classes to giving away dozens of home-grown lemon trees. He exudes professionalism in his interactions with both students and faculty, while also bringing levity to dense medical science topics.”

Excellent training goes beyond just medical expertise and also extends to personal support. Linda DiMeglio, MD, professor of pediatrics, was nominated by two of her students, Colette Ciresi and William Brideman for this reason. Ciresi spoke in detail about how DiMeglio went above and beyond to support her as a summer camp counselor at the American Diabetes Association Camp John Warvel where DiMeglio serves as director.

Image of Linda DiMeglio, MD“The most memorable part of my summer was when I was competing for a scholarship as a top 20 oral Indiana Medical Student Program for Research and Scholarship (IMPRS) finalist. I only had three days to put together a PowerPoint about my summer research. She zoomed me multiple times so I could practice my twenty-minute speech to perfection. When the day came to present, she walked in right before I started with her entire research team. If you want something done right, leave it to Dr. DiMeglio. She gave me one of the best learning experiences I have had at this institution. IU School of Medicine is lucky to have her!”

Bridgeman also had the opportunity to serve as a counselor at Camp John Warvel and expressed appreciation for DiMeglio’s phenomenal mentorship and support.

“Dr. DiMeglio was my mentor for the IMPRS program and is a fantastic teacher. Going into the program, I had very little experience with clinical research and was unsure how to navigate the program. However, Dr. DiMeglio helped explain all the facets of the program and how to conduct clinical research. Despite having a very busy schedule herself, she took the time to make sure I was comfortable with my research project and always answered my questions,” said Bridgeman.

Nominations aren’t just limited to individual students, the Students of the Medical Board of the IU Student Outreach Clinic nominated Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, MD, Barbara F. Kampen Professor of Women's Health for the 2020 Trustees Teaching Award. The medical board collectively voiced that, “Dr. Rohr is incredibly supportive of students, regardless of where they are along their training path.”

Image of Theresa Rohr-Kirchgraber, MDHer students also remarked on her involvement with the IU Student Outreach Clinic (SOC) saying, “She routinely volunteers as a staff physician at the SOC, often at the last minute when our need is greatest. She begins every clinic day by asking everyone’s name, and then she gives a brief talk on a high-yield topic in primary care. Students who volunteer at the clinic regularly comment on how wonderful Dr. Rohr-Kirchgraber is as a clinician and an educator. She often stays late at the SOC to make sure every patient has been taken care of and every question has been answered. She serves as an incredible role model, making a positive impact on every student and patient with whom she interacts.”

IU School of Medicine is currently accepting nominations for the 2021 Trustee’s Teaching Award. Medical students are strongly encouraged to nominate faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and training.


Nominate a faculty member for the 2021 Trustees' Teaching Award by January 27, 2021. Tenured and tenure-track faculty and librarians engaged in teaching are eligible, as are full-time clinical faculty and full-time lecturers whose primary duties are teaching, including faculty in the IU School of Medicine who may be located at medical centers or be paid by institutions other than Indiana University (e.g., IU Health Physicians, Eskenazi Health, Purdue University, Veteran Affairs, Ball State University, etc.).

The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.
Default Author Avatar IUSM Logo

Madison Pershing

Madison Pershing is a Marketing and Communications Assistant for Indiana University School of Medicine’s Faculty Affairs, Professional Development, and Diversity.