Featured Post

Combatting Health Disparities with PRIME Grants

The Department of Medicine is well-represented among this year's awardees. Learn more about their projects.

Hannah Calkins  |  Sep 23, 2022

Read this story

Lana Dbeibo

Dr. Lana Dbeibo Takes on New Leadership Role in the Chair's Office

Dr. Dbeibo has been named Interim Associate Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs - Quality, Safety, and Population Health.

Hannah Calkins  |  Sep 19, 2022

Side-by-side headshots of Dr. Lauren Nephew, left, and Dr. Ashley Gilmore, right.

New Health Equity Leaders in the Department of Medicine

In their new roles, Nephew and Gilmore will contribute to departmental efforts to advance equity in healthcare for all patients and communities served by IU

Hannah Calkins  |  Sep 01, 2022

In the Summer Writing Accountability Group, Faculty Smash Goals and Set Habits

Participants in the Department of Medicine's WAG often meet or exceed their writing goals--and enjoy group camaraderie along the way.

Hannah Calkins  |  Aug 29, 2022

Aaron Ermel, MD

Early Career Spotlight: Aaron Ermel, MD

For the past eight years, Dr. Aaron Ermel has been a PI for a successful program to strengthen research on HPV-associated cancers in low- and

Hannah Calkins  |  Aug 24, 2022

Group of women faculty and trainees pose together at the restaurant.

WIMS Open Forum with Trainees "A Resounding Success"

The Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) group invited trainees to socialize, share experiences, and network.

Hannah Calkins  |  Aug 16, 2022

Side-by-side headshots of Dr. Francesca Duncan, left, and Dr. Cindy Brown, right.

New Co-Chairs Will Help Lead Department Groups

Dr. Francesca Duncan and Dr. Cynthia Brown will assist in leading two important Department of Medicine faculty groups. 

Hannah Calkins  |  Jul 01, 2022

Dr. Alex Kesler and Dr. Yara Sarkis Win 2022 Research Competition

"The quality of the abstracts and presentations were excellent, and the competition was close," said Kara Wools-Kaloustian, MD.

Hannah Calkins  |  Jun 28, 2022

Dr. Michael Ober

Dr. Michael Ober Named Chief Medical Officer for IU Health West

Dr. Ober has served as the department's Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs for 14 years. 

Hannah Calkins  |  Jun 28, 2022

Frontiers logo. Three 3D colorful boxes stacked on the left, and the word "frontiers" on the right.

Dept. of Medicine Faculty Contribute to Special DEI Edition of Journal

The edition explores innovative ideas to diversify the physician workforce, and to retain underrepresented physicians.

Hannah Calkins  |  Jun 22, 2022