Skip to main content

Gold Humanism Honor Society chapter inducts 45 new members

Group photo of award winners
The IU School of Medicine chapter of the national Arnold P. Gold Foundation Gold Humanism Honor Society is one of more than 100 society chapters across the United States. IU School of Medicine’s chapter was established during the 2005-2006 academic year as a means of formally recognizing medical students, residents and faculty who demonstrate exemplary behavior that promotes humanism in medicine.

The society celebrates and focuses on patient-centered care through its inductees, who model the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy. Induction into the society is recognized by many as a pinnacle of professionalism for medical students and residents.

A number of rising fourth-year students, as well as faculty and residents join the Gold Humanism Honor Society annually during the induction ceremony at IU School of Medicine.

The 2022 Gold Humanism Honor Society induction ceremony took place on May 3, 2022. This year, the IU School of Medicine chapter inducted 35 students, six residents and four faculty. 

Medical students
Eric Jay Aksu
Stephanie Marie Asdell
Erin Bammann
McKenzie R. Barber
Sean Addison Buehler
Alejandro Enrique Bolivar
Sarah Jane Bruns
Mikayla Jianna Erb Burrell
Natalie Campbell
Jessica Chiang
Sarah Caraline Combs
Sara Dehbozorgi
Emma Elisabeth Eckrote
Uchechukwu Emili
Annie Gensel
Aaron Salim Gilani 
Andrea Isabel Gonzalez
Aida Souheil Haddad
Michael James Harding
Kate Lauren Harris
David Alexander Huston
Colton Joseph Junod
Maria Khan
Shannon Marie Killeen
Eric Charles Klipsch
Ian Tyler Oechsle
Courtney Raab
Luke Andrew Richardson
Emma Lenore Ross
Annie Elizabeth Stenftenagel
Alaina Marie Turchi
Holly VanDeman
Tianna Vandermissen Yeung
Taylor James Zike

Lauren Ford, MD, Family Medicine
Lauren Kyrychenko, MD, Pediatrics
Maya Hunt, MD, General Surgery
An Huynh, MD, Internal Medicine/Pediatrics
Annalise Jacobs, MD, Pediatrics
Alexandra Silva, MD, Pediatrics

Chase Carroll, MD, Internal Medicine
Lee Ann Cox, MD, Internal Medicine
Joseph Harmon, MD, OB/Gyn
Avinash Mantravadi, MD, Otolaryngology
The views expressed in this content represent the perspective and opinions of the author and may or may not represent the position of Indiana University School of Medicine.

IU School of Medicine

With more than 60 academic departments and specialty divisions across nine campuses and strong clinical partnerships with Indiana’s most advanced hospitals and physician networks, Indiana University School of Medicine is continuously advancing its mission to prepare healers and transform health in Indiana and throughout the world.