Skip to main content

New Ophthalmology Department Awards

headshots of taz and ethel
Congratulations to Dr. Tasneem Sharma and staff member Ethel Kussow on receiving awards for their significant work within the Department of Ophthalmology. Dr. Sharma received the Outstanding Faculty Commitment to Diversity Award. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and the Director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice (DEIJ) for the department. This award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a commitment to the creation, promotion, or advancement of diversity on campus. This award is given to faculty who have made an extraordinary contribution to the DEIJ goals of IU School of Medicine.

“I feel this award cements what we are trying to accomplish in the department and our greater community in general. We want to create an environment that represents every member within our department and hear their voice. This award is just an extension of our DEIJ committee's hard work and commitment to DEIJ values,” said Dr. Sharma.

Staff member Ethel Kussow received the 2023 Lynn Wakefield Unsung Hero Award. She is currently a grants and contracts administrator. This staff award recognizes employees who demonstrate exemplary reliability in the execution of duties without expectation of recognition. It encourages and reinforces IU School of Medicine’s core values of cooperation and excellence.

“I have not been gainfully employed for several years as I made the decision to stay at home with my children while they were growing up. This award is quite special to me as it validates my growth as a person and as a mother. I’d like to think that the lessons I learned as a mother of 3 carried over to my work ethic – curiosity, humility, patience, and having purposeful and appropriate responses to situations. Winning the award was truly unexpected and rewarding,” said Ethel.

Thank you to both Dr. Sharma and Ethel for their continuous efforts in the Ophthalmology department. These awards are well deserved. Join us in celebrating both department members!