838-McGrath, Rolly

Rolly McGrath, MD

Professor Emeritus of Emergency Medicine

RG R2200
Indianapolis, IN
Pubmed Logo
Download CV


Rolly McGrath played basketball at the University of Iowa and was a member of the 1968 Big Ten Men's Basketball Championship team.
He attended medical school at the University of Kansas (1968-1972), had residency training in Internal Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine (1972-1976), did a fellowship in Critical Care Medicine at the University of Southern California (1977-1978), and served on the IUSM faculty for 35 years.
He has been board certified in Internal Medicine, Critical Care, and Emergency Medicine.
During his tenure he served Wishard Health Services as the Chief of Internal Medicine (1996-1999), Chief of Emergency Medicine (199-2011), and Medical Director of the Medical Intensive Care Units (1976-1999), Emergency Department (1987-2009), and Ambulance Service (1987-2000).
He served medical students as the course director of Freshman Emergency Medicine (1990-1995), Evidence Based Medicine (2001-2005), and the Internal Medicine (1976-1999), Critical Care (1976-1999), and Emergency Medicine Clinical Clerkships (1986-2000).
He received recognition as Best Dental Lecturer from the IU Dental School senior class (1986) and Outstanding Teacher in Internal Medicine by the IUSM senior class (1984, 1987, 1988, and 1989). He received the Department of Medicine Distinguished Teaching Award (1990) and a President's Award or All University Distinguished Teaching Award (1990). He was given an Emergency Medicine Trustee Teaching Award (2002), the Jay Grosfeld, MD Annual Trauma Recognition Award (2010), and the Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD, Distinguished Faculty Award (2013).
He was inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha in 2002.
Rolly was the inaugural IUSM Department of Emergency Medicine Chair (1999-2011). With the support of many he effected the transition of the Wishard Emergency Department to emergency medicine from its old specialty-based triage paradigm. This facilitated better patient care and created a milieu for student and resident education in emergency medicine.
In addition to numerous school and hospital committees Rolly served on the Executive Committee (2007-2010) and was President of the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine (2009).
The Rolly McGrath Chair in Emergency Medicine is an endowed senior professorship funded by University Emergency Medicine Associates (the original academic departmental practice plan), Indiana University School of Medicine, and the Health and Hospital Corporation of Marion County in 2009.

Titles & Appointments

  • Professor Emeritus of Emergency Medicine
  • Professor Emeritus of Medicine
  • Professor Emeritus, Professor Emeritus
  • Professor Emeritus, Professor Emeritus
  • Education
    1978 FEL Critical Care Fellowship, University of Southern California
    1976 RES Internal Medicine Residency, Indiana University School of Medicine
    1972 MD University of Kansas
    1968 BA University of Iowa
  • Professional Organizations
    Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society
  • Board Certifications
    American Board of Emergency Medicine - Emergency Medicine
    American Board of Internal Medicine - Critical Care Medicine
    American Board of Internal Medicine - Internal Medicine
  • Awards
    Desc: Trustee Teaching Award
    Scope: University
    Date: 2002-05-01

Looking for patient care?

To schedule an appointment with a faculty member physician of IU School of Medicine, contact Indiana University Health at 888-484-3258 or use the physician finder by clicking the button below.

Find a doctor