13668-Jones, James

James H. Jones, MD

Professor Emeritus of Clinical Emergency Medicine

Indianapolis, IN
Pubmed Logo


Jamie is a 1976 graduate of DePauw University (Greencastle, Indiana) and a 1979 graduate of the Ohio State University School of Medicine. He completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio in 1982. From 1985-1997 he was faculty for the then Methodist-based EM residency, serving as the associate program director from 1993-1997. In 1998-1999 he was the chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine for Mayo Hospital Arizona. He then returned to Indiana in late 1999 and joined the faculty of the Eskenazi Emergency Department and the Indiana University School of Medicine. From 2001-2013 he served as the Vice Chair of the academic department.

Within the IUSM, Jamie is the Chair for Promotion and Tenure Committee (clinical and contracts), serves as a mentor for the Career Development Consultations and is a member of the Curriculum Council Steering Committee. In 2015, he was named an Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education with a focus on Residents as Teachers.

On a national level, he was a member of the Board of Directors for the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) from 2005-2015. His ABEM activities included: chair of the Residency Visitation Program Task Force, chair of the Academic Affairs Committee, chair of the Communications Committee, senior editor for the LLSA examination, liaison to the Medical Toxicology subboard, member of the Test Development, Test Administration, and Credentials Committees as well as the Assessment of Practice Performance, Initial Certification, Residency Training Information and Internal Medicine-Critical Care Task Forces. From 2010-2015 he served on the Executive Committee and was President in 2013-1014. He continues as an oral board examiner. Since 2001, Jamie has been a manuscript reviewer for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Titles & Appointments

  • Professor Emeritus of Clinical Emergency Medicine
  • Education
    1982 RES Residency, Emergency Medicine, Wright State University
    1979 MD The Ohio State University
    1976 BA DePauw University
  • Professional Organizations
    American College of Emergency Physicians
    Society for Academic Emergency Medicine
  • Board Certifications
    American Board of Emergency Medicine - Emergency Medicine
  • Awards
    Org: Indiana University School of Medicine
    Desc: Invited Faculty, IUSM White Coat Ceremony
    Scope: Campus
    Date: 2013-01-01

Looking for patient care?

To schedule an appointment with a faculty member physician of IU School of Medicine, contact Indiana University Health at 888-484-3258 or use the physician finder by clicking the button below.

Find a doctor