10115-Sprunger, Derek

Derek T. Sprunger, MD

Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology

Glick Eye Institute
1160 W. Michigan St.

Indianapolis, IN 46202
Pubmed Logo
Download CV


Dr. Derek Sprunger, Clinical Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Indiana University School of Medicine, currently serves as immediate past president of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS), and is past president of both the International Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Council (IPOSC) and the Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology (IAO). His service to the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) has included two terms on the council and one term on the Secretariat of State Affairs.

He is a recipient of the Senior Achievement Award from the AAO and Lifetime Achievement Award from AAPOS. He has twice been named Ophthalmologist of the Year in the state of Indiana and is an emeritus member of American Eye Study Club (AESC), which awarded him the John H. Killian Award.

Sprunger has written or contributed to over 100 journal publications and book chapters on a range of topics. He has been involved in training over 150 residents, 60 U.S.A. fellows, and international fellows.


Titles & Appointments

  • Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology
  • Education
    1985 MD Indiana University
    1981 BS Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Clinical Interests

    Strabismus and nystagmus surgery

  • Awards
    Org: American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS)
    Desc: President
    Scope: National

Looking for patient care?

To schedule an appointment with a faculty member physician of IU School of Medicine, contact Indiana University Health at 888-484-3258 or use the physician finder by clicking the button below.

Find a doctor