Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research


Wells Center History

Named after Dr. Herman B Wells, chancellor of Indiana University and a member of the Riley Memorial Association for more than 50 years, the Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research provides a unique environment that allows innovative research and day-to-day clinical practice. Under the leadership of Dr. David A. Williams, the center grew from four original researchers in 1991 to a faculty of 34, and its expansion in 1997 doubled the Center’s size to 27,550 square feet.


In 2000, the center named Dr. Mary Dinauer director, who served until 2008, when Dr. Mervin C. Yoder assumed leadership of the center. In August 2017, Dr. Raghu Mirmira became director of the Wells Center.