Distinguished Medical Alumni Award

The Distinguished Medical Alumni Award has been presented since 1970 to recognize alumni of IU School of Medicine who’ve honored the school by standing out professionally or performing extraordinary service to their alma mater. All IU School of Medicine graduates and trainees are eligible. Nominate an IU School of Medicine alumni for the Distinguished Medical Alumni Award.


2017 Recipient - Major General James K. Gilman, MD '78

Dr. James K. Gilman has spent more than three decades working to heal wounded soldiers in the U.S. Army – including as head of Walter Reed Health Care System during one of the most demanding times in recent history – and by leading research aimed at improving the health and safety of troops.

Now retired from the U.S. Army, Dr. Gilman continues to serve his country as chief executive officer of the National Institutes of Health Clinical Center – the nation’s largest hospital devoted to clinical research. The cardiologist’s daily job: oversee the 200-bed, 870,000-square-foot research center, which handled almost 6,000 inpatient admissions and 100,000 outpatient visits last year.

Steering a large research enterprise is a familiar task for Dr. Gilman, who spent the latter part of his 35-year military career commanding the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command. With a $2 billion budget, it oversees 75 percent of research and development for the U.S. Department of Defense. Not only does the Command oversee supply chains for medical equipment, but it performs vital research. For instance, researchers use regenerative medicine and stem cells to help with skin grafts, and they confront communicable diseases like malaria, dengue fever and man-made biological weapons that pose a threat to U.S. military personnel.

Dr. Gilman initially joined the Army for a simple reason: An ROTC Scholarship would make it possible for him to attend Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology. After earning a biological engineering degree, he attended IU School of Medicine, graduating in 1978. He completed his residency in internal medicine and fellowship in cardiovascular diseases at Brooke Army Medical Center, based in San Antonio, Texas.

Between 1997 and 2000, Dr. Gilman served in a role equivalent to – in civilian terms – chief physician at two Army medical centers, Fort Hood and Fort Lewis, and later was named commander of an Army hospital in Alaska, the sole Army hospital in the state. By 2002, he was brought to Washington, D.C., to serve in the Office of the Army Surgeon General. From 2004 to 2005, he ran Walter Reed Army Medical Center, managing the complex flow of wounded veterans coming back from combat in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Dr. Gilman also returned to San Antonio as a Brigadier General to oversee Brooke and the Great Plains Regional Command assuming responsibility for 30 percent of all U.S. Army medical facilities and up to one million patients annually. In 2009, he took over the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command, a post he held for three years until his retirement from the Army.

Most recently, Dr. Gilman was the executive director of the Johns Hopkins Military & Veterans Institute.

Dr. Gilman is the recipient of numerous military awards and decorations, including the Distinguished Service Medal, Legion of Merit and Meritorious Service Medal.

Dr. Gilman will be honored during the 70th Annual Strawberry Shortcake Luncheon on May 20, 2017 at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown.

Past Recipients

David L. Nahrwold, MD’60, Res’65Charles M. Clark, Jr., BA’60, MD’63
Charles J. Dietzen, MD’87
Sharon P. Andreoli, MD’78, Res’81
William E. Segar, MD’47, Res’51
Lisa E. Harris, MD’83, Res’91
Frank W. Sellke, MD’81
William R. Cast, MD’62
Robert S. Dittus, MD’78, Res’81
Rodney C. Perkins, MD’61
Lawrence H. Einhorn, MD Res’70David E. Longnecker, MD’64
Ronald D. Miller, MD’64
Robert K. Stoelting, MD’64
Jean A. Creek, MD’52
Adam M. Robinson, MD’76
John N. Pittman, MD’57
George F. Rapp, MD’57
Clarence W. Boone, MD’67
Phyllis V. Irwin, MD’54
John Pless, MD’63
William Dalton, MD’80
Donald Rudy, MD’56
Merrill Ritter, MD’63
Eugene Tardy, MD’60
Robert W. Schrier, MD’62Raymond W. Nicholson, Jr., MD’55
Robert R. Hattery, MD’64Lawrence Rink, MD’66
August M. Watanabe, MD’67
Jane E. Henney, MD’73
David A. Wolf, MD’82
David A. Hamburg, MD’47
William H. Beeson, MD’76William K. Nasser, MD’61
Virgil T. DeVault, MD’29
Paul Siebenmorgen, MD’44ADeborah I. Allen, MD’76
A. Janelle Goetcheus, MD’65Joseph E. Walther, MD’36
Fred W. Dahling, MD’56
Harold M. Manifold, MD’45Malcolm O. Scamahorn, MD’43
Ernest M. Steury, MD’57Robert A. Garrett, MD’43
Suzanne B. Knoebel, MD’60
Roy H. Behnke, MD’46
George T. Lukemeyer, MD’47
J. Stanley Battersby, MD’39
Olga Bonke-Booher, MD’32
Lowell H. Steen, MD’48
Lester D. Bibler, MD’25
V. Kenneth Stoelting, MD’36
Joseph M. Black, MD’44
Harvey Feigenbaum, MD’58
Charles Fisch, MD’44
Frank Ramsey, MD’27
James O. Ritchey, MD’18
Brandt F. Steel, MD’32Edwin Boldrey, MD’32
Clyde Culbertson, MD’31Kenneth G. Kohlstaedt, MD’32
Andrew Offutt, MD’40Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD’44
Otis R. Bowen, MD’42Lowell T. Coggeshall, MD’28