Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology is committed to training tomorrow’s ophthalmologists and to advancing treatments and prevention of eye diseases and vision disorders through research. The department has invested in talented scientists and faculty known for their clinical expertise. Work done within the department is guided by the core values of excellence, integrity, diversity, cooperation and respect for all individuals.



The Department of Ophthalmology at IU School of Medicine offers education programs for medical students, residents, postgraduates and community physicians. The committed faculty and state-of-the-art facilities at the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute facilitate patient care, research and academic pursuits.


The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute at IU School of Medicine is a leader among public universities in ophthalmic research due to its exemplary faculty, innovative avenues of research, and the continuous expansion of programs in basic, translational and clinical research.
Clinical Care

Clinical Care

Department faculty are accomplished ophthalmologists who are extensively trained to treat and manage an array of ocular conditions, including glaucoma, diabetic retinopathy and dry eye as well as facial and ocular reconstructive surgeries. They practice at three locations in Indianapolis.
Full-Time Faculty
Active Research Studies
David Wallace, MD,  MPH

David Wallace, MD, MPH

Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
David Wallace, MD, MPH, serves as chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and director of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute. His primary research interests include retinopathy of prematurity (ROP), amblyopia and clinical trials.
Shaohui Liu, MD, PhD,  MD

Shaohui Liu, MD, PhD, MD

Assistant Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology
Dr. Shaohui Liu is well-established in the field of corneal research and has completed a wide range of training in hospitals and institutions throughout the United States. Her special interests include cornea and external eye dieses, corneal transplant and cataract surgery.

Glick Family Philanthropy to Advance Ophthalmology

Through the generosity of the Glick family, the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute opened its doors in 2009 and is now home to the IU School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology. The four-story, 77,000-square-foot building provides 14,000 square feet of clinic space and is the capstone of the philanthropy of Eugene and Marilyn Glick, Indianapolis residents who donated $30 million to support vision research, eye care and education at the largest medical school in the country.

Graduate Medical Education Programs

The Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Ophthalmology offers a competitive three-year residency program that provides training in all areas of ophthalmology for medical school graduates. The department also offers two one-year fellowship programs in glaucoma and oculoplastics.

Apply for Residency