Shelly D. Timmons

Shelly D. Timmons, MD, PhD

Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery


Shelly D. Timmons, MD, PhD, became chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery at Indiana University School of Medicine in September 2019. She is the first woman to lead the IU department and only the fourth woman to serve as chair of a neurosurgical department at a U.S. medical school.

Timmons holds leadership roles in several national societies and organizations and completed a term as president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons in April 2019. She is a specialist in neurotrauma and neurocritical care, with a focus on traumatic brain injury, and has led or co-led numerous clinical research studies sponsored by the NIH and industry partners.

She came to Indiana from the Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, where she was vice chair for administration in the Department of Neurosurgery and director of neurotrauma. She previously served as director of neurotrauma and residency program director at Geisinger Health System in Danville, Penn.

Timmons began her career at Semmes Murphey Clinic, a leading provider of neurosurgical care in Memphis, Tenn., and was associate professor and chief of the neurotrauma division at University of Tennessee Health Science Center–Memphis, as well as assistant dean for graduate medical education.

A graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Timmons earned her medical degree from the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria in 1991. She completed residency training at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center–Memphis in 1997 and earned a PhD in anatomy and neurobiology there in 2002.


Neurological Surgery
IU Health Neuroscience Center--Goodman Hall 355 W. 16th Street, Suite 5100
Indianapolis, IN 46202


Titles & Appointments

  • Betsy Barton Professor of Neurological Surgery